Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Find out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Connect to a reference librarian for help 24/7.
Get Help 24/7
Our chat service is offline.
Literary Research Databases
INTRODUCTION TO LITERARY HISTORY AND INTERPRETATION
ONLINE DATABASES FOR DOING LITERARY RESEARCH
These online databases are excellent sources to use to find critical analysis of works of literature in scholarly books and articles.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on modern languages and their literatures. To find secondary sources about an author, type the author's surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) in the first search box, then select "Subject Terms" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box. You can learn more about how to use the MLA International Bibliography by watching this short video:
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) This link opens in a new window
A useful complement to the MLA International Bibliography, this database lists books, articles, and some book reviews written since 1920 about works of literature written in English. To find sources about an author, type the author's name (surname first) in the first search box, then select "Author as subject -- SAU" from the drop-down list in the box to its right. To find discussions of a specific work by this author, add its title in the second search box.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, as well as literary movements and topics. This is an excellent source to survey some of the most important criticism about an author and to observe how critical assessments have changed over time.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. If you are looking for critical analysis of a particular literary work, type its title in the "Name of Work" search box, then type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) in the "Person - By or About" search box.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
This database is an excellent source for starting research on poems and their authors. It provides the full text online of over 250,000 poems, critical commentaries on 1,000 well-known poems, biographies of approximately 500 poets, and a "Listening Room" featuring notable contemporary poets reading aloud a selection of poems by many authors. It also can be used to find copies of poems published elsewhere, as it supplies over 450,000 citations to where poems may be found in printed books. In addition to poems written originally in English, it also provides information about and access to a wide range of poetry from all times and places, written in many other languages.
Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Many literary essays and scholarly articles about literature are published in anthologies and collections of essays. This database tells where to find over 330,000 essays published in these books in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain from 1900 to the present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses. It is a good source in which to find recent scholarly articles that provide critical analysis of works of literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides online access to the full text of articles published in back issues of scholarly journals in many fields of study. It is a good source in which to find scholarly articles that provide critical analysis of works of literature.