Research Guides: ENGL 14: Introduction to Literary History and Interpretation (Tarnoff): Primary Sources

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

SCU Library Catalog
To find books in the University Library's collection written by a specific author, type the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Kipling, Rudyard) to see a list of all the books that we have written by that author.

WorldCat
A combined library catalog that shows which libraries throughout the world own millions of books and other materials in 400 different languages. Most of these materials in libraries in the United States may be borrowed through interlibrary loan.

HathiTrust
Drawn from the collections of several major research libraries, this web site contains complete scanned copies of millions of books in their collections. Those that are out of copyright (i.e., published before 1928) are freely available to be read online.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that provides permanent access online to publications from around the world and from all time periods. Works in the public domain (i.e., published before 1930) are readily available to all, while works still under copyright may be "checked out" and read by one person at a time, similar to one person at a time borrowing a printed copy from a library.