Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Help 24/7
Our chat service is offline.
Articles and More
FINDING ARTICLES, INTERVIEWS, AND MORE
The following online databases are excellent sources for finding critical articles, interviews, production histories, reviews of specific performances, and other information about playwrights and their works.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
This database is the best one to use to find articles published in journals and books, as well as whole books and other publications, on all aspects of theatre, dance, and other performing arts. The emphasis in this index is on theatrical production issues and individual productions, performers, directors, designers, etc.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Containing the full text online of criticism, articles from reference books, and reviews of authors and their works, this is a helpful database to get started on your research. Type the title of the play in the "Name of Work" search box, then the author's name with the surname first (for example -- Wilson, August) in the "Person - By or About" search box.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database lists books and articles written since 1926 on modern languages and their literatures. To find sources about a specific play, type its title in the top search box, then type your author's name with the surname first (for example -- Wilson, August) in the second search box, and click the down arrow in the box to its right and select "Subject Terms." The articles listed in this index are more likely to discuss literary topics (such as theme, plot, etc.), rather than stage production issues.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database is a good place to find articles on subjects beyond the field of theatre that are dealt with in plays or other theatrical productions. It tells where to find articles published in over 3,500 different scholarly journals and popular magazines published since 1982 across a wide range of subject areas. The full text of articles published since 1994 is often available online.