Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Music, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
Citing Sources in Corrrect MLA Format
Guides to Citing Sources in MLA Citation Style
The MLA Handbook is the official, authoritative source to use for creating your citations in correct MLA format. It utilizes in-text citations and a works cited page at the end. The following sections of the handbook are the ones you will use most often.
- Works-Cited-List Entries by Publication FormatYou can find over 500 sample citations here for almost every possible type of resource. They are in the format you use in your Works Cited list at the end of your paper.
- In-Text Citations: OverviewThis section of the handbook provides guidance on how to create in-text citations for your sources in the body of your paper.
- MLA Handbook This link opens in a new windowClick this link to connect to the table of contents for the entire handbook. Here you can find all the sections of the handbook, such as Chapter One, which provides guidance on formatting your paper (the margins, title, header, font, etc.).
Another tool that can be helpful when using the MLA citation style is the following:
- The OWL at Purdue: MLA Formatting and Style GuideThe OWL guide to citing references in the MLA format is a handy online source that can help with creating correct citations.