How to...
How to read and critique a scientific research article by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789814579179Publication Date: 2014
Get Help 24/7
How to Get Articles
How to Get Articles
Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.
To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:
1. Links to full-text if we have journal online
2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print
3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.
Suggested Database
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowThe ultimate women's studies resource! Includes over 540,000 records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases. 1972-present.
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, from 1984-present. The full text of many of these articles is available online from 1995 forward. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.