SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an excellent place to find sources to help you with you research design. It contains thousands of sources to guide you through various methodologies-- from question development through analysis.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods provides access to 1000+ books, encyclopedias, and journal articles, as well as innovative features, such as the Methods Map visual browse tool using a custom taxonomy of 700+ methods terms.
Search in SAGE to learn more about these particular PAR methodologies, among others:
- Photovoice
- Photo-elicitation / Photo-interviewing
- Auto-ethnography
- Community mapping
Other Sage titles related to PAR / Action Research include:
Research Methods- Books from the SCU Library
In addition to the rich resource of Sage Research Methods above, you can also find other research methods ebooks thorough the library. Here are some example titles below. To search for more, go to the library homepage and select the "Streaming Videos/Ebooks" tab to search.
eBooks on PAR
Here are a few SCU Library ebooks on Participatory Action Research (PAR) in the context of Education.
Action Research for Inclusive Education by ISBN: 9781351048347Publication Date: 2019-04-24Exploring practitioner research and the possibilities it creates for increasing student participation and developing inclusive practices in educational contexts, this insightful text presents a range of original and innovative approaches to Action Research.
Action Research in Education, Second Edition by ISBN: 9781462541652Publication Date: 2019-09-25Acclaimed as a text and professional development tool, this user-friendly resource has now been revised and updated, and offers expanded coverage of collaborative action research (CAR) and participatory action research (PAR). Preservice and inservice educators get crucial step-by-step guidance for conducting classroom- and school-based studies to improve their instructional practices. Organized to mirror the full cycle of action research, the book provides balanced coverage of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. Vivid vignettes and examples illustrate research approaches for a range of teaching and learning situations, school subjects, and age groups (PreK-12).
The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education by ISBN: 9781119399476Publication Date: 2019-02-06Comprehensive overview of the theoretical, conceptual, and applied/practical presentations of action research as it is found and conducted solely in educational settings.
Teachers Investigate Their Work by ISBN: 9781315398808Publication Date: 2018-04-26Now in its third edition, Teachers Investigate Their Work introduces both the theoretical concepts and the practical methods necessary for readers wishing to develop their action research. Drawing from studies carried out by teachers and other professionals, as well as from the authors' own international practical experience, the book provides detail on multiple educational contexts from primary education to university training and beyond. It contains over 50 practical methods and strategies.
