Research Guides: ENGL 1A: Critical Thinking & Writing (Jalal): Finding Articles

How to Get Articles

Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.

To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:

1. Links to full-text if we have journal online

2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print

3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.

Suggested Database

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to images and the full text of articles in back issues of selected scholarly journals related to the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
Consult the online tables of contents for the years available, as coverage varies for each title.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides brief summaries of, and information on where to find, English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, published from 1984 to the present.
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
This database provides the full text of over 190,000 critical articles and excerpts from books about literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors.
The critical essays and primary source documents reprinted in this database discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive, annotated listing of materials on Shakespeare, covering books, articles, audio-visual materials, electronic media, and reviews of books and productions, published from 1967 to the present.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

ENGL 1A: Critical Thinking & Writing (Jalal)

Get Help 24/7

How to Get Articles

How to Get Articles

Suggested Database