MLA Citation
The MLA Handbook is the official, authoritative source to use for creating your citations in correct MLA format. It utilizes in-text citations and a works cited page at the end. The following sections of the handbook are the ones you will use most often.
-
Citations ExamplesYou can find over 500 sample citations here for almost every possible type of resource. They are in the format you use in your Works Cited list at the end of your paper.
-
In-Text Citations: OverviewThis section of the handbook provides guidance on how to create in-text citations for your sources in the body of your paper.
-
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowClick this link to connect to the table of contents for the entire handbook. Here you can find all the sections of the handbook, such as Chapter One, which provides guidance on formatting your paper (the margins, title, header, font, etc.).
APA Citation
APAStyle.org is the most reliable place online to get information about how to cite in this style, including help with in-text citations and your reference list, including lots of example citations for various types of sources.
You can also consult the APA Style Manual from the SCU Library or the Purdue OWL.
Citation Generators
Database Citation Generators
Many library databases will generate citations for you. While the still need proofreading, they can save you some steps in building your bibliography.
Online Citation Generators
Most online citation generators are not recommended, as they require more revision to get accurate citations. Always double-check citations from these sources!
One recommended citation generator is ZoteroBib. A tool from the open citation manager Zotero, ZoteroBib is noncommercial (no ads), free, and helps you build individual citations or bibliographies for your paper or project.