Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching British History: Background Information

Guide to resources on British history for the students in Hist 101

Quick Links

Background Information

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Other Reference Sources:

 

General encyclopedias, subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, are useful to get an overview of your topic, to verify a fact, to get the definition of a concept, etc. Many reference books useful for researching British history are now available online. You can access these electronic titles via OSCAR the online catalog or by clicking on the links below.  The other print reference books are available in the reference section on the first floor of the library.

Online Reference Books:

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Britannica Online

The Oxford Companion to Black British History

A Dictionary of British History

The Oxford Companion to British History

For more online subject encyclopedias, connect to the Gale Virtual Reference Library or to the Oxford Reference.

 

Print Reference Sources:

The Companion to British History,   Ready Reference 1st Floor, DA 34.A76 2001

Medieval England, an Encyclopedia. Ready Reference 1st Floor  DA 129.M43 1998

Victorian Britain, an Encyclopedia.  Ready Reference 1st Floor DA 550 V53 1988

Twentieth-Century Britain, an Encyclopedia.  Ready Reference 1st Floor, DA 566.T835

The British Empire: an Encyclopedia of the Crown's Holdings, 1493 through 1995, Ready Reference 1st Floor   -   DA16 .S84 1996   -

Tudor England: an encyclopedia.  Ready Reference 1st Floor   -   DA315 .T753 2001   - 

 

To find more reference books in print, use OSCAR and do the following advanced  keyword search:

England and history and  (dictionaries or encyclopedias)