Ask A Librarian
John LeMasney, "Ask a Librarian" May 25, 2010 via Library Garden, Creative Commons Attribution.
- Ask a Librarian / FAQsGet help from a librarian by texting, IM, email, or make an appointment.
Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Citation GuidesGuides to proper citation using the common style manuals, such as APA, MLA, etc.
Finding Works by the Author
ENGL 175
CREATIVE NONFICTION: TRAVEL WRITING
GOULD
FINDING WORKS BY TRAVEL WRITERS
These are your PRIMARY SOURCES for your Research Paper!!!
Books and articles written by travel writers can be found using the following databases:
- WorldCatWherever you may be this summer, you can find books written by your travel writer in a library near you by using this online guide to the collections of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Click the Advanced Search link beneath the search box, type your author's name (last name first) in the Author box, then click the down arrow in the Format box and select "Book." The results will show you which libraries near you have copies of your author's books.
- OSCARIf you are close to Santa Clara University this summer, you can find books written by your travel writer by doing an Author search in OSCAR, our online catalog. Type the author's name, surname first (for example — Theroux, Paul), and OSCAR will show all the books we have by this author and where to find them in the SCU Library.
- Omnifile Full TextThis database tells where to find articles published in over 3,500 different scholarly journals and popular magazines published since 1982 across a wide range of subject areas. The full text of articles published since 1994 is often available online. To find articles written by your author, type the author's name in the first search box (last name first), then click the down arrow in the box next to it and select "Author Personal." You can learn more about how to use Omnifile by watching this short video:
- Academic Search CompleteThis database indexes the articles published in more than 12,500 journals, including more than 8,500 whose full text is available online. It covers a wide range of academic subject fields, with coverage of some publications going back to 1911. It looks and works like Omnifile. So, if you watch the video about searching Omnifile, you will also know how to search Academic Search Complete. Or you can search them simultaneously as in the video!
- Access World NewsThis database provides the full text online of articles published in more than 1,300 newspapers and other printed and online news publications from the United States and around the world. The years included vary for each publication, but some extend back into the 1970s. Choose the area of the world whose newspapers you want to search (such as USA), click the down arrow beside the first search box and select "Author/Byline," then type your author's name in the search box (last name first).
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is an online full-text database of books that are in the public domain. If your travel writer produced work that is no longer under copyright (common for 19th-century authors), their work may be available for free online!
Librarian for ENGL 175
Primary vs Secondary Sources
Watch this video to ensure that you know the difference between primary and secondary sources. For YOUR purposes, your primary sources are books/articles written by your travel writer. Your secondary sources are book reviews of books written by your travel writer, scholarly journal articles about the work of your travel writer, or other analysis of the writing by your subject, written by someone other than your travel writer. If you're not clear on this, be sure to ask a librarian for help!