While there are hundreds, maybe thousands, of periodicals that have articles relevant to research on Asian Pacific Americans, the ones listed here are of great importance to the field, and every student should get to know them.
Below are the research encyclopedias that all students doing research on Asian Pacific Americans should know about. You should always begin your research by consulting them.
Ethnic Studies is such an interdisciplinary field that you need to really think about the specific topic you are researching carefully to decide the best database to use. Read the descriptions here carefully. If the database link within the text here doesn't work, you can go to the list of databases on the library homepage.
For current issues type information and to search the ethnic PRESS (mostly magazines and newspapers whose audience is people in a specific ethnic group in a specific region), Ethnic Newswatch is the way to go!
If you are just beginning to explore your topic, a good database to explore in is Omnifile.
If your research has a historical angle or cultural life of America angle, you should be sure to explore America: History & Life.
Many, many aspects of ethnic studies research is interdisciplinary and overlapping various social sciences, e.g. sociology, psychology, anthropology, so a great database is Proquest Social Science Premium Collection.
If you researching an author or literature, then you will need to tackle the MLA Bibliography.
How about anything to do with business or entrepreneurship? Then you definitely want to use Business Source Complete.