Oxford Bibliographies in Latino Studies is a unique resource for both researchers and students. According to the publisher it aims to offer " ... an authoritative, trustworthy, and up-to-date intellectual map to this ever-changing discipline." Called the "anti-Google" by the Chronicle of Higher Education, these bibliographies try to help students and novice researchers find their way to authoritative information. Each article is reviewed for update annually, and at least 50 new articles are added each year.
While there are hundreds, maybe thousands, of periodicals that have articles relevant to research on Hispanic Americans, the ones listed here are of great importance to the field, and every student should get to know them!
Below are the research encyclopedias that all students doing research on Latinos/as should know about. You should always BEGIN your research in them.
Ethnic Studies is such an interdisciplinary field that you need to really think about the specific topic you are researching carefully to decide the best database to use. Read the descriptions here carefully.
Although its greatest strength is its indexing of periodicals FROM and about Latin America, research on Hispanic Americans should include HAPI, Hispanic American Periodical Index. This is a database that will lead you to journal articles, books, and other information sources, in English, Spanish, Portuguese, from and about all of Latin America as well as about Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S. There is a checkbox to Limit to citations about US Hispanics/Latinos. They currently include articles from more than 500 journals, and articles go back to 1970.
For current issues type information and to search the ethnic PRESS (mostly magazines whose audience is people in a specific ethnic group), Ethnic Newswatch is the way to go!
If you are just beginning to explore your topic, a good database to explore in is Omnifile.
If your research has a historical angle or cultural life of America angle, you should be sure to explore America: History & Life.
Many, many aspects of ethnic studies research are SOCIOLOGICAL ("... the science of society, social institutions, and social relationships..." according to www.merrian-webster.com/dictionary) in nature or perspective. There is a huge sociology database called, suprisingly, Sociological Abstracts.
And, if your topic has to do with women in particular, you need to search Women's Studies International.
If you researching an author or literature, then you will need to tackle the MLA Bibliography.