Research Guides: Recursos Para la Investigacion Literaria en Santa Clara University: Índices y Repositorios

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Índices y Repositorios (“Full Text Databases”) de Bibliografía Secundaria

ÍNDICES Y REPOSITORIOS ("FULL TEXT DATABASES") DE BIBLIOGRAFÍA SECUNDARIA

La información disponible para investigar, además de bibliotecas y archivos, se organiza en índices bibliográficos (bibliographic indexes) y repositorios (full text databases). Todo maestro, investigador o estudiante avanzado debe conocer los índices más utilizados en su disciplina. En estudios literarios, el índice más importante es el MLA International Bibliography. Otros índices relevantes serían: Current Contents, Humanities Index, Hispanic American Publications Index, Essay and General Literature Index…

Quienes se dediquen a investigación interdisciplinaria, deberían conocer los índices de otras disciplinas: Philosophical Abstracts, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts, PsycINFO, etc.

Los criterios de búsqueda son los mismos que en los catálogos de biblioteca (ver sección I), con unas diferencias:

· No solo se encuentran libros, sino artículos académicos, capítulos de libros, entradas de enciclopedia, etc.

· Por eso hay que buscar con más cuidado. Debe acostumbrarse a búsquedas más restrictivas (límites por año, comando AND, etc.).

Actualmente muchas bibliotecas incorporan en los índices un servicio que busca si un artículo listado en un índice está disponible a través de los repositorios a los que se suscribe la biblioteca. Si encuentra un artículos que le interesa, pinche (click) en “Find it at SCU”.

Para investigaciones más largas y complejas, puede guardar búsquedas o exportar los resultados de su búsqueda a EndNote, Zotero, o la base de datos bibliográfica que ustedes usen (ver sección "¿Cómo organizar sus datos?") .

En cuanto a los repositorios o “full text databases”, gracias a que hay programas que enlazan el contenido de un índice con la base de datos a la que se suscribe una biblioteca, ya no es tan importante conocerlas individualmente. Pero no les hará daño saber cuál es cuál.

Para nivel undergraduate aconsejo familiarizarse con estos recursos:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Como dije más arriba, es el recurso más ampliamente utilizado por los investigadores en estudios literarios.
This database includes the full text of more than 1,000 journals in the fields covered. It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides detailed information about all the periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
The critical essays and primary source documents reprinted in this database discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
LCO y GALS son un poco redundantes. Ambos contienen selecciones de textos críticos sobre autores canónicos. Contiene información menos “novedosa” pero sólida.

Otras bases de datos relevantes accesibles en SCU:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
This database also provides critical commentaries on well-known poems, biographies of leading poets, and a Listening Room featuring notable contemporary poets reading aloud a selection of poems by many authors.
Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Over 700 journals, published worldwide, are indexed. Included are citations for articles about Mexico, all Central American and South American countries, and the Caribbean, as well as about Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(buena parte del material disponible aquí SCU ya lo consigue por vía de OmniFile).

Puede interesarles conocer los índices de revistas abiertas (open access). Los “open-access journals” no son necesariamente las revistas más prestigiosas. Sin embargo, la opción “open-access” es cada vez más común debido a los elevados costes de distribución de los medios tradicionales. Algunos sitios relevantes para estudios hispánicos:

Otras bases de datos:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Índice y texto completo de artículos de prensa globales.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Repositorio de libre acceso de tesis doctorales y de maestría escritas en Norteamérica, así como algunas universidades europeas y asiáticas.