Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 31: Adaptations, Interventions and Collaborations (Tremblay-McGaw): Searching Tips

Search Tips

Though searching can be a messy process, designing a search strategy can make finding good sources for your research paper easier.  Below are suggested steps to think through in the search process:  choosing a topic; developing a search strategy; choosing the right database; finding articles; and organizing sources.

Step 1: Choose a Topic

 

Choosing a Topic You are Curious About

The first step in the search process is to choose a topic.  Choosing a topic you are curious about and interested in will make the research process easier and more enjoyable.

Step 2: Develop a Strategy

Searching is Strategic

Searching can be difficult, but beginning with a search strategy can make your database searches more successful.  Start with brainstorming keywords.

Step 3: Select a Database

Choosing the Right Database

Once you have a topic and keywords, select a database to find books and articles. For books, use the OSCAR library catalog.  For articles, select a library database, starting with some of the recommended databases  on this guide.  You can also browse the Database by subject list on the library web page.  

Step 4: Find Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Once you have selected a database, use your keywords to search and find full text scholarly articles.

Step 5: Repeat

Search is a Cycle

Search is sometimes referred to as cycle.  In other words, you often will need to search multiple times and in many different places.  You might modify or adjust your topic, brainstorm new keywords, and try searching in additional databases.  Repeating your search strategy can help you find additional and more refined sources.