Skip to main content

HIST 176: Celebrity & Politics: U.S. From the 1980s to the Present (Gudgeirsson): Scholarly Articles

What is a scholarly article?

Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles on your topic (secondary sources), try the following databases:

HISTORY AND SOCIAL SCIENCE DATABASES:

America: History and Life
Provides access to articles on the history of the United States and Canada.

Political Science Complete

Women's Studies International

LGBT Life with Full-Text

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES:

Humanities Full-Text

Academic Search Complete

Project Muse
Searchable database that provides access to the full-text of journals published by many university presses in the humanities, and social sciences.   Coverage varies for each title.

JSTOR
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, political science,  and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.  Be aware that the current issues (current 2 or 3 years) are not included.

 

To get a list of all the databases available at SCU, go to the library home page and click on the DATABASES tab. 

How to Search the Databases

How to Search the Databases:

Just enter keywords describing your topic.  Use the connector AND between your keywords or enter keywords in different search boxes.    For example if you are interested in how Ronald Reagan responded to the AIDS crisis, you could do a search like this

Reagan and AIDS 

You can use synonyms or related terms to describe your topics.  For example, "AIDS or HIV"

You can also use an asterisk at the end of a word to retrieve various endings.  For example, "polic*"  would retrieve policy and policies.

When you look at your list of results in the database, If the full-text of an article is not readily available i, click on the FIND IT AT SCU icon to see if it's available in another database or in print in the library.  If it's not you will have the option of using the Interlibrary Loan Service.  It's free and very fast!