Quick Links
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind journals and magazines online and in print
- CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Counseling Psychology, Political Science, Psychology
Social Sciences Images: SCU-Subscribed Databases
Images for History, Political Science,
and Other Social Sciences
SCU-SUBSCRIBED DATABASES
(Also see Web Resources below)
IMPORTANT: Use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That's the law! If an image is in the public domain and thus freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is public domain, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
SCU-subscribed databases can be used only on campus
or off-campus, by those with SCU Access cards.
- AP ImagesMore than 500,000 photographs from Associated Press: state, regional, national, and some international.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowMAPS: see link near the bottom of the left sidebar for NewsBank maps: world, country, continent, region and state maps in 3 views – political, physical, and black/white without text.
- CountryWatch (maps)Look for the Country Maps link, then choose from Thematic, Physical/Political, or Global Thematic.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowIn Advanced Search, limit results by Content Type > Images (video results are also an option). Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Full texts and abstracts. Sources include refereed journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
- Oxford African-American Studies CenterFrom the Search tab dropdown menu, choose Image and Multimedia Search. Or Browse by Category: Images and Multimedia.
- ScienceDirectA button at upper left of the ScienceDirect homepage allows you to choose an image search. Tables, charts, and some images.
- America: History and Life, Political Science CompleteThese and other EBSCO databases do not have pure image searching. But, you can limit your search to articles that have accompanying images: scroll through Limiters on the database search screen to Image Quick View Types. Choose your preferences from the Image Types: color photographs, black-and-white photographs, maps, etc.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2.5 million high-quality digital images for educational and research use. In addition to reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, the collection also contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Updated continually.
Social Science Image Resources
Images for History, Political Science,
and Other Social Sciences
WEB RESOURCES
IMPORTANT: Use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That's the law! If an image is in the public domain and thus freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is public domain, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
- Library of Congress: American Memory"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
