Finding and Using Images

Creative Commons: If you can't find the images you want in the public domain, considering using Creative Commons-licensed images. Creative Commons licenses are copyright licenses that allow the creators of works to indicate how they want others to share and use their work. When using a Creative Commons-licensed image, be sure that your use does not violate the license (licenses stipulate that the author must be cited, or that the work cannot be used for commercial purposes).

Public Domain Images: Using public domain images is one way to ensure that you are not violating copyright. Public domain refers to works that are no longer under copyright protection or that failed to meet the requirements for copyright protection. Authors can use images found in the public domain without seeking permission from the copyright holder.

Licensed Image Databases: The University Library licenses a variety of electronic databases that generally permit use of the images for research and scholarship only. Other uses, whether commercial or not, usually require explicit permission from the original source. Often, if information regarding reuse of the image is not found within the item, it can be found in the "Terms and Conditions" section.

When using an image, be sure to ask yourself:

• Do you know who the original creator of the image is?
• Did you check for any copyright or licensing restrictions?
• Did you provide credit to the original source?

When in doubt, avoid using images where the licensing or copyright is unknown. 

Browse the 50,000 images and documents scanned into the Digital Collections through the Archives & Special Collections at SCU. Collections of interest:

• The Santa Clara Student Newspaper
• SCU Yearbooks
• Mission Santa Clara Manuscripts
• Mission Santa Clara Sacramental Records

Any questions regarding Archives & Special Collections, please email specialcollections@scu.edu.