Public Health Capstone Research Guide
Quick Links
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
- CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Saving Searches in PubMed
In PubMed, click "Sign in to NCBI" link at upper right.
If you do not have an account (free), click "Register for an NCBI Account." (NCBI account allows you to save searches in all of NCBI’s many databases.)
If you want to save a search, click "Save Search" link just under searchbox near top of screen. On the next screen, give your search a name.
Next, click “Yes, please” radio button if you would like to receive email updates of your search. Then choose the frequency; which day of the week; format, such as Abstract (text); and how many updates you want at a time. Click Save. That’s it!
Google Scholar
Databases for Public Health Capstone
Remember to check the references in good articles for leads to other good articles. Some databases, including Google Scholar, PubMed, Science Direct, and Web of Science, will also show you CITING articles so you can track the topic forward in time.
- SCIENCE DATABASES
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowThe only specialized database dedicated to public health. Includes information on international health, biomedical life sciences, environmental health, disease, nutrition, food safety & hygiene, health policy, and sociology of health topics from a global perspective.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowSCU receives 400+ ScienceDirect online journals from the publisher Elsevier. SCU's ScienceDirect journals are marked by green icons. Most are full-text. Dates covered: 1995-present. Elsevier journals focus on science, technology, medicine, and business, and include high impact-factor journals such as the Trends and Current Opinion series.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary environmental database that includes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on global warming, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, green building, and more. Mostly abstracts with some full text.
SOCIAL SCIENCES DATABASES
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase of the Educational Resources Information Center, indexing and abstracting education journal literature, as well as ERIC documents. 1966-present. Updated monthly.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1994-present This link opens in a new windowIndex to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully covers over 1,400 journals spanning 50 disciplines. Coverage also includes items relevant to the social sciences selected from 7,000 other journals. 1994-present. Updated weekly.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
- MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.
Subject Guide
Anna Yang
she/her/hers
How to Get Articles
How to Get Articles
Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.
To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:
1. Links to full-text if we have journal online
2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print
3. Link to Interlibrary Loan & LINK+ if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.