Research Guides: ENGL 1A/2A: Critical Thinking and Writing (Lacrampe AY 24-25)): Start Here: Databases

Explore Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases - GENERAL covers all topics

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.

Anthropology Plus is the combination of two databases: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute (UK). It is an index to journal articles, reports, and edited works in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and folklore. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and two other publishers. Most journals are covered from volume one to the present.
Other publishers: Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to psychology journals, books, and dissertations. It is THE source for starting any psychology research project. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
This database includes MEDLINE and indexes and abstracts articles, books, and multimedias on topics such as microbiology, health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health from 1966 to present.
Click here for our PubMed Quick Guide
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts articles focused on science, technology, medicine, and business from 1995 to present.
SCU's ScienceDirect journals are marked by green icons.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The weekly news and information resource for U.S. higher education since 1966. Internet edition includes everything in the print edition as well as additional online-only features and links to relevant outside information. Online access includes Chronicle of Higher Education reports: Reimagining the Student Experience and Higher Education in 2035. Online archive includes everything published in the print version back to 1989.
Access Chronicle of Higher Education reports at the SCU institutional landing page.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to over 500 active professional and scholarly education journals. Dates of coverage vary by title, some go back to 1900. Updates vary.
This database is a combination of full-text, abstracts, and indexes.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles and indexing to over 1,000 active open access journals, as well as conference papers, and videos covering all aspects of education. Dates of coverage and Updates vary.

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehansive access to communication topics such as mass media, communication theory, linguistics, organizational communication, etc. Coverage goes back to 1915.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers political science topics in depth and has a worldwide focus. It includes scholarly journal articles, books, and conference papers.
The subject specific thesaurus contains over 17,500 terms to aid researchers.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 3,500 journals, trade publications, magazines, and company profiles. Additional full-text non-journal content includes case studies, market research reports, SWOT analyses, country reports, and more.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles on gender and women's studies, LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) by authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.
Access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database providing indexing and abstracts for disciplines including sociology, history, international relations and humanities. All sources relevant to Women's studies on a global scale. 1972 - present.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
This database provides primary resources from the 16th to 20th centuries on the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender studies research along with LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) history and activism, psychology, and cultural studies. The library subscribes to Module 1: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part 1: primary sources on social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ globally, and Module 3: Sex and Sexuality examining sexual norms and gender roles over time.

Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database tells where to find books and articles from international music periodicals on all aspects of classical and popular music worldwide, published from 1970 to the present.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides encyclopedia articles on classical, popular, and folk music from all eras and areas of the world.
This online encyclopedia of music contains the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as other music reference works from Oxford University Press.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
The database covers criminology, corrections & law enforcement, criminal law, criminal justice, criminal rehabilitation, industrial crime, addictions (e.g., gambling), and child abuse. Coverage is from 1981 to the present.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 90 million pages of legal information.
HeinOnline includes American Enterprise Institute (AEI) publications.

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides brief summaries of, and information on where to find, English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, published from 1984 to the present.
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications related to agriculture and environmental science from 1960 to the present.
This database covers areas such as agricultural engineering, biodiversity, botany, environmental law, forestry, sustainability, waste management, and water resources.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and provides the full-text of articles, newspapers, and multimedia resources related to environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This database provides research on all aspects of human influence on the natural environment and how individuals, corporations, and local/national governments can minimize negative impact. The subject areas include abstracts and full-text articles on global warming, green building, alternate fuel sources, recycling, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, among many others.

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
This database provides a wide range of information and images related to dress and body adornment worldwide throughout history.
This database includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference works, the full text of over 200 other books on fashion, and an extensive collection of color photographs of clothing and body adornment.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to a collection of research papers, conference proceedings, and technical standards in engineering and technology, with diverse topics including electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and telecommunications.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to over 1400 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for additional journals, publications and other sources. Topics covered include applied mathematics, energy resources, biomedical materials, etc.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a vast collection of abstracts to scientific literature, conference proceedings, technical reports, and patents covering all engineering disciplines. It combines the results from both Compendex and Inspec.

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
More than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.