Librarian
Science Librarian
Thinking About Topic Scope
Your topic scope may be too broad if:
- A search for your topic yields hundreds or even thousands of results, and they all seem relevant
Your topic scope may be too narrow if:
- A search for your topic yields very few results, and very few seem relevant, and you've consulted with a librarian
- You can't find data and statistics relevant to your topic
Getting Started
Welcome to the RSOC 64 Research Module!
In this module you'll work through three exercises that will prepare you to complete your upcoming assignments. By working through the activities you will be able to:
- Apply both divergent (ideation) and convergent (focusing on one path) thinking in order to find a focus for your research project.
- Identify and practice two search approaches for identifying faith organizations involved in an environmental issue.
- Construct and execute a multi-disciplinary (multi-subject) and multi-database search through one search platform.
Exercise 1: Topic Ideation
Get out a piece of paper and a pen. Think about the different environmental issues you are individually or collectively considering in class. Specifically reflect on and jot down the following:
- What are the different issues you're considering?
- What you have already learned from initial background research on the topic.
- How does that pre-research inform a possible focus of interest?
- Discuss with your group. What is the interest level in this topic within the group? Rank it.
- How do you think religious, faith, or inter-faith organizations might respond to, influence, or advocate for your top ranked issue?
- Share these distilled ideas on the Padlet below, and interact with your group members' posts.
Google Form for Exercises 2 & 3
- Google Form for Exercises 2 & 3You'll be emailed your answers when you turn it in and we'll share them with Professor Robinson.
Exercise 2: Organization Ideation
Use the Google Form above to start Exercise 2.
Exercise 2 asks you to explore and identify 1-2 other potential organizations using the Suggested Sources page in this Guide. The Yale Forum on Ecology and Religion is a particularly valuable resource. List 1-2 other groups of possible interest.
Exercise 3: Topic Convergence
Now you have a few organizations under consideration and some various environmental issues, you'll continue to refine and converge upon one direction. You'll do so by pre-reading in those topics. This exercise will support your pre-reading through strategic searching in targeted library databases.
Specifically, in Exercise 3 you will construct a multi-disciplinary search using EBSCO databases. You will need to watch Video 1 (7 mins) under "Videos for Activities" and then you will be able to apply the techniques to your own search in Exercise 3.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
Sample Search:
Last Step
Finish filling out the Google Form and Submit!
- Google Form for Exercises 2 & 3You'll be emailed your answers when you turn it in and we'll share them with Professor Robinson.