Country Information
Country Watch
Economic and political information and news for 191 countries. Plus historical background, data for key economic sectors, maps, environmental, etc.
Use the "CW Country Reviews" tab.
CIA World Fact Book
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, and military for 267 countries.
Freedom House
This site has been a non-partisan, non-profit champion of democracy for almost 70 years. Since 1972 it has surveyed the world and issued reports on the state of freedom in each country. To find reports on a particular country, use the search box.
Online News Sources
Access World News
This a database of full-text articles from about 1900 news sources, including American and foreign newspapers, new wires and other miscellaneous sources
Peer-Reviewed Articles
Use the following databases to find your peer-reviewed articles:
Tip: Limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" articles to eliminate popular magazine articles from your results.
If you are not sure what a peer-reveiwed article is, take this short tutorial.
This database "indexes and abstracts articles from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences from 1983 to the present.
ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE
This multidisciplinary database indexes and abstracts articles from thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and other disciplines, from 1983 to the present.
POLITICAL SCIENCE COMPLETE
Political Science Complete contains full-text for more than 520 journals and indexing & abstracts for over 2,900 titles, including top-ranked scholarly journals. The database has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Development Indicators and Statistics
The World Bank
Provides free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe. Searchable by country, topics, and indicators.
Atlas of Global Development
Maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for 200 countries
NationMaster
Compilation of statistics of all sorts from a variety of sources, all clearly cited. The aim is to allow for country-country and statistic-statistic comparisons in different formats.
Human Development Reports
This site comes from the United Nations Development Programme. For the latest HDR data on a particular country, click on COUNTRIES in the band at the top of this page.
Environmental Issues
GREENR: Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resource
Click on "World Map" and select a country to get an overview of environmental issues
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Provides access to journal articles, reports, and books in environmental sciences
Human Rights
- Human Rights WatchAccess all the reports back to 1989, by topic or country.
- Amnesty InternationalQuickly get to the most recent few years reports and news on a country by selecting it from this opening page. Or, go to the LIBRARY and search an amazing collection of information!
- HuriSearchYou can search more than 5,000 different human rights sites at once here. Amazing resource!
- Minority Rights Group InternationalWebsite of an NGO that supports the rights of minorities and indigenous peoples worldwide. They publish an annual State of the World's Minorities report.
Librarian
