Resources on the History of American Musical Theatre: Theatrical Reviews

Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.

The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.

A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

This database indexes articles published in journals and books, as well as whole books and other publications, on all aspects of theatre, dance, and other performing arts. To find reviews of theatrical productions, type the name of the play in quotes in the first search box, then type "reviews" in the second search box. Once the search results appear on the screen, click the down arrow next to the word "Relevance" to the right of the first result, and select "Date Oldest." This will list the reviews in the chronological order in which they were published, making it easier to identify the different productions under review.

The full text online of reviews of theatrical productions in the New York area from 1851 to four years ago can be found in this database. Just type the name of the play into the search box. Other types of articles may appear among the results, but most of them will be reviews of particular productions.

This database contains the full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers throughout the United States and elsewhere in the world. It is a good source for finding reviews of stage productions beyond the city of New York.

This database indexes articles published in the most important journals on theatre, music, and other fields in the humanities, from 1984 to the present. To find reviews of play productions, type the name of the play in quotes in the first search box, then type "reviews" in the second search box. Once the search results appear on the screen, click the down arrow next to the word "Relevance" to the right of the first result, and select "Date Oldest." This will list the reviews in the chronological order in which they were published, making it easier to identify the different productions under review.

This database indexes articles published in the most important journals on theatre, music, and other fields in the humanities and social sciences, from 1907-1984. To find reviews of play productions, type the name of the play in quotes in the first search box, then type "reviews" in the second search box and select "subject" from the drop-down box to its right. Once the search results appear on the screen, click the down arrow next to the word "Relevance" to the right of the first result, and select "Date Oldest." This will list the reviews in the chronological order in which they were published, making it easier to identify the different productions under review.

Indexing articles published in over 20,000 periodicals, and providing the full text of many of them online, this database is a good place to find reviews of stage productions that appeared in both popular magazines and theatrical journals. To find them, type the name of the play in quotes in the first search box, then type "theater reviews" in the second search box and select "subject terms" from the drop-down box to its right. Once the search results appear on the screen, click the down arrow next to the word "Relevance" to the right of the first result, and select "Date Oldest." This will list the reviews in the chronological order in which they were published, making it easier to identify the different productions under review.