Librarian
SCU Photos
A number of the digital collections consist primary of scanned photographs, many historical, some going back to the era of the earliest photographic inventions (like this 1854 daguerreotype of Mission Santa Clara), but some taken as recently as the early aughts (like many photos in the Chuck Barry photo collection).
Browse the the groupings below to explore the offerings based on your interests and needs.
- 1906 Earthquake and Silicon ValleyThis is a collection of photographs, College records, newspaper clippings, and personal accounts that tell the story of how the Santa Clara College community fared through, and reacted to, the disastrous event.
- Charles Barry Photo CollectionCharles (Chuck) Barry was Santa Clara University’s photographer from 1988 to 2015. During those years he took many thousands of photographs of SCU events, people, and places.
- ClaraVisionClaraVision contains images that reflect the rich visual history of our institution, and the people, places, and events associated with it.
- From College to University - SCU's first 150 yearsThe images here show the transformation of the school, its context within what would come to be called Silicon Valley, and its interconnection with national and world events and trends through the late 19th and 20th centuries.
- George M.A. Schoener CollectionFather George M. A. Schoener, the "Padre of the Roses", was born in 1864. The Schoener Collection contains photographs, correspondence, poems both in German and English, and articles on rose breeding and horticulture.
- SCU Historical BuildingsThis collection includes black & white and color photographs of Santa Clara University buildings, both past and present. Most buildings have photos of both interiors and exteriors.
- SCU in the 70sA nationally recognized figure in his trade, Eymann was the University’s first contracted photographer. This collection focuses on technology and fashion in Eymann’s works, as these are concrete means by which change can be measured and assessed.
- Silicon Valley History OnlineSilicon Valley History Online includes photographs, maps, letters, postcards, manuscripts, scrapbooks, menus, programs from events, and many other materials from local libraries, archives, and museums.
- Turrill-Miller Photograph CollectionThe Turrill-Miller Photograph Collection consists of over 300 photographs documenting the historic buildings and campus life of Santa Clara College (now known as Santa Clara University), from 1905-1920.
Alaska photos
- Hubbard KetchikanVarious photographs from Fr. Hubbard's visits to Ketchikan, Alaska and various other locations in Alaska.
- Hubbard King IslandIn 1937 and 1938 Fr. Hubbard lived on King Island, with his boats, dogs, expedition members, and more than 100 tons of supplies and equipment. During this expedition, he continued his glacier research and captured the King Island people on film.
Other photos
- Conrad S. BabcockThese images of celebration at the end of World War 1 are taken from a scrapbook in the Conrad S. Babcock Papers. The photographs feature such people as General John J. "Blackjack" Pershing, General Ferdinand Foch, the Kings of England and Spain, Queens Mary and Alexandra, and the Prince of Wales, amid sites in Paris, New York, and Washington, DC.
- Pellerano FamilyThe Pellerano Family was originally from Italy and immigrated to the United States sometime in the last half of the nineteenth century. Follow this link to learn more about the family and access photographs, documents, and more.
Advanced search & Download
You can construct an advanced search in the Digital Collections to search any number or combination of these collections. Select advanced search from the top menu, click the show all button, unselect all, select the collections you desire to search, and then click search. Putting in a keyword isn't necessary if you are just trying to browse multiple digital collections at once, but it is definitely helpful to use keyword to focus your results.
Be sure to use the download tool in the upper right corner and select large to download the highest resolution version available.
If the version you download isn't high enough quality, ask for the high res .tiff by emailing SpecialCollections@scu.edu.