Important Information & Links
Questions? Contact Us!
Archives & Special Collections -
specialcollections@scu.edu
Head of Archives & Special Collections
Monica Keane
Contact:
Norman F. Martin Reading Room
Archives & Special Collections
Library and Learning Commons, 3rd floor
Archives & Special Collections
Library and Learning Commons, 3rd floor
408-554-4094
Subjects: Archives & Special Collections
About SCU Digital Collections
What are SCU Digital Collections?
SCU Digital Collections are collections of materials from Archives & Special Collections that have been digitized and put online. These digital files are faithful reproductions of the physical materials that are stored within Archives & Special Collections.
We currently have over 50 digital collections uploaded. This is just a small portion of the total physical materials that are available for research at Archives & Special Collections.
How do I find SCU Digital Collections?
You can access SCU Digital Collections three ways -- via the library home page, the Archives & Special Collections home page, or with the direct URL content.scu.edu.
- From the library’s home page at scu.edu/library, locate the horizontal menu at the top of the page, and hover your cursor over the word ‘Collections.’ In the drop-down menu that appears, select ‘Digital Collections.’
- Another way to access digital collections is from the Archives & Special Collections home page at scu.edu/library/asc. From the Archives & Special Collections home page, scroll down to the middle of the page and locate the box that says ‘Digital Collections.’ Click the red button that says ‘Search All Digital Collections.’
- Finally, you can access Digital Collections by typing the url directly into your browser’s address bar. The url for Digital Collections is content.scu.edu.
What department controls SCU Digital Collections?
SCU Digital Collections was created and is maintained by the University's Archives & Special Collections, which is a part of the University Library. Archives & Special Collections is where the university keeps its archives, rare books, manuscripts, historic photos, artifacts, and much more. For general inquiries, users can email the entire Archives & Special Collections department at specialcollections@scu.edu.
Photo: Father Schoener inspecting an 8ft rose shoot, from the George M.A. Schoener Digital Collection.
List of All Available Collections
- 1906 Earthquake and Silicon ValleyThis is a collection of photographs, College records, newspaper clippings, and personal accounts that tell the story of how the Santa Clara College community fared through, and reacted to, the disastrous event.
- Anthropology Research ManuscriptsThis occasional paper series, published at SCU between 1994 and 2006, focused on cultural, ecological, and historical matters in the south San Francisco Bay Area.
- Arthur Spearman, SJ papersThe Arthur D. Spearman, S.J. Papers, 1824-1977 (1955-1975), documents the life and work of priest, author, and former University Archivist Father Arthur D. Spearman, S.J.
- Books from SCU's Digital CollectionsIn this collection, users can view scans of entire rare books from SCU's Special Collections.
- Catholic Women's Network PublicationsThe Catholic Women’s Network (CWN) was a non-profit educational organization for women’s spirituality and personal growth located in the Bay Area.
- Charles Barry Photo CollectionCharles (Chuck) Barry was Santa Clara University’s photographer from 1988 to 2015. During those years he took many thousands of photographs of SCU events, people, and places.
- ClaraVisionClaraVision contains images that reflect the rich visual history of our institution, and the people, places, and events associated with it.
- Clay Greene CollectionThe Clay M. Greene Collection, 1867-1934 (bulk 1880-1925) documents Greene’s life from his early years as a newspaperman to his later success as an American playwright.
- Conrad S. BabcockThese images of celebration at the end of World War 1 are taken from a scrapbook in the Conrad S. Babcock Papers. The photographs feature such people as General John J. "Blackjack" Pershing, General Ferdinand Foch, the Kings of England and Spain, Queens Mary and Alexandra, and the Prince of Wales, amid sites in Paris, New York, and Washington, DC.
- Course Catalogs and BulletinsThese volumes document the academic course offerings of Santa Clara, from its start in the 19th century as a young men’s college to its current university status.
- Early California EphemeraThis digital collection is made up of ephemera: materials made for a single purpose and not meant to last a long time. These can include newspapers to calling cards to diaries. The items here come primarily from the 19th century San Francisco Bay Area.
- Early SCU HistoriesThis collection, taken from books and pamphlets in Archives & Special Collections, features histories of Santa Clara College and University, and the Santa Clara de Asis Mission, from its founding days until the bicentennial mission celebration of 1977.
- Encarnación Pinedo CollectionIn the early to mid-1800s, the Pinedo family was prominent in the Santa Clara Valley and its history is intertwined with that of Mission Santa Clara and the city itself. The items in this digital collection have been selected from the Pinedo Family Collection.
- Ernest Watson CollectionErnest Paul Watson, SJ was born on April 4, 1889 in Quincy, California. Watson went to Santa Clara College (now Santa Clara University) as an undergraduate and was a student during the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake.
- Father Markey HomiliesFather Francis Markey was known for his homilies, the commentaries given by a priest after the scripture readings during the Mass. His friends called him a maverick, a teacher, a visionary and, above all, a man of tremendous faith.
- Fr. Viader's Miscellany BookFather Viader’s Book, which is bound in hide, served as a reference book for life in Mission Santa Clara; as such, the multiple manuscripts in it deal with a great variety of subjects, such as Church doctrine, liturgy and regulations, health care, food production and preparation, and Native society (Indians).
- Francisco Jiménez PapersThe Francisco Jiménez Papers, 1962-2010, document Jiménez’s achievements as a writer and university professor.
- Fray Magín Catalá CollectionThe Magín Catalá, O.F.M. Collection documents the life of Fray Magín Catalá. Often referred to as the “Holy Man of Santa Clara,” Fr. Catalá was stationed at Mission Santa Clara for 36 years and was widely renowned for his piety and spiritual labors.
- From College to University - SCU's first 150 yearsThe images here show the transformation of the school, its context within what would come to be called Silicon Valley, and its interconnection with national and world events and trends through the late 19th and 20th centuries.
- George M.A. Schoener CollectionFather George M. A. Schoener, the "Padre of the Roses", was born in 1864. The Schoener Collection contains photographs, correspondence, poems both in German and English, and articles on rose breeding and horticulture.
- Hubbard KetchikanVarious photographs from Fr. Hubbard's visits to Ketchikan, Alaska and various other locations in Alaska.
- Hubbard King IslandIn 1937 and 1938 Fr. Hubbard lived on King Island, with his boats, dogs, expedition members, and more than 100 tons of supplies and equipment. During this expedition, he continued his glacier research and captured the King Island people on film.
- John J. Montgomery CollectionThis collection of Montgomery material documents various stages of Montgomery’s work, from his earlier trials around California to his commercial flight shows, and to the experimental trials preceding his untimely passing.
- José Antonio Villarreal PapersThe José Antonio Villarreal Papers document the personal and professional life of José Antonio Villarreal. Villarreal became well known for his book Pocho, which was first published in 1959 and is considered a landmark in Chicano literature.
- Little Big GameThis collection contains football programs from the 1920s, 30s, and 40s, showing the development of the sport, and the rivalry with St. Mary's, during these decades.
- Maria MonkThis collection features versions of the scandalous text 'Awful disclosures of Maria Monk : as exhibited in a narrative of her sufferings during a residence of five years as a novice, and two years as a black nun, in the Hotel Dieu Nunnery at Montreal.'
- Mission AccountsThe Mission Santa Clara Manuscript Collection holds two volumes from Mission San José, both are account books corresponding to the years after the secularization of the missions.
- Mission Library Book CollectionThe Mission Santa Clara Book Collection is comprised of 217 titles of Mission-period books, whose dates of publication range from 1548-1835. The Collection was the library for Mission Santa Clara, founded in 1777 by the Franciscan Fathers.
- Mission Santa Clara ManuscriptsThe Mission Santa Clara Manuscript Collection consists of hundreds of manuscripts primarily written and collected by the Franciscan missionaries from the founding of the Mission in 1777 until the arrival of the Jesuits in 1851.
- Mission Santa Clara Music ManuscriptsThe main manuscript in this collection is this large Choirbook for which Father Narciso Durán, from Mission San José, was the scribe. According to Craig Russell the Mission Santa Clara Choirbook, along with two other written by Father Durán, “constitute the richest and most invaluable anthologies of music from the mission period.”
- Mission Santa Clara Sacramental RecordsAs all Roman Catholic clergy are obliged to do, the priests who staffed Mission Santa Clara kept meticulous records about the sacraments at which they officiated. Over the past few decades, mission sacramental records have proven to be of inestimable value in helping scholars reconstruct the rhythms of life in pre-1850 California.
- The Multicultural Center and Cultural Student Organizations at SCUThe Multicultural Center and Cultural Student Organizations at SCU is a collection that collates documents relating to the Multicultural Center and cultural student organizations such as Igwebuike, MEChA-El Frente, and the UNITY movements, among others.
- New Deal Art - California"New Deal Art: California" was a six-month exhibition presented in 1976, sponsored by the de Saisset Art Gallery and Museum of the University of Santa Clara. This online collection consists of digitized film transparencies used to support the 1976 exhibit.
- Nobili Papers Digital CollectionThe Nobili Papers digital collection contains documents of the early days of Santa Clara College. Included are financial records, legal papers, and correspondence with Church and State officials, parents, and merchants. All documents from the physical collection, with the exception of the1953 McGloin biography, are included.
- Norman Martin, S.J. CollectionThe Norman Martin, SJ Digital Collection consists of a wide variety of materials including class notes, handouts, photographs, letters, and manuscripts from the Nuestra Señora de los Remedios convent in Sucre, Bolivia.
- Paper, Wood, and CopperThis collection features illustrated books from the original Mission Library and from the early Santa Clara College collection, with books dating from 1518 to 1803.
- Pellerano Family CollectionThe Pellerano Family Papers document the lives of the Pellerano, Boitano, and Wempe families in the San Francisco Bay Area. The records include the personal papers of Nicholas, Clorinda, and Pedrina Pellerano along with memorabilia from several other family members.
- Reid Family PapersThe Reid Family Papers document the lives of several members of the Reid family. This collection includes material related to Bernard J. Reid’s 1849 overland journey to California from Missouri, including his personal diary from the trip.
- Scientific InstrumentsThe Scientific Instruments collection contains historical scientific instruments used in previous educational and research endeavors by SCU. These instruments are a testament to the University's emphasis on educating the critical thinking individual alongside the spiritual individual.
- SCU AnnalsThe Annals of Santa Clara: College and University, 1851-1951, is a typewritten manuscript by Reverend Henry L. Walsh, S.J. It covers the administrative and social history of Santa Clara College and University from its start in 1851 until 1951.
- SCU Commencement ProgramsThe SCU Commencement Programs collection provides access to commencement programs from the years 1934 to 2013. These include programs from the university as a whole and, starting in 1975, divided by Undergraduate, Graduate, and Law.
- SCU Historical BuildingsThis collection includes black & white and color photographs of Santa Clara University buildings, both past and present. Most buildings have photos of both interiors and exteriors.
- SCU in the 70sA nationally recognized figure in his trade, Eymann was the University’s first contracted photographer. This collection focuses on technology and fashion in Eymann’s works, as these are concrete means by which change can be measured and assessed.
- SCU MapsSanta Clara University Archives & Special Collections houses a number of maps, plats, and drawings of the local area, some of them dating to pre-US California. We have digitized a sampling of these, concentrating on items that are fragile and/or oversized, to allow researchers access to them without risking damage to the originals.
- SCU Oral HistoriesThis collection contains the transcripts from a series of tape-recorded interviews, conducted by Norman F. Martin, SJ '38 between 1999 and 2000, with various alumni and members of the Santa Clara University community.
- The Santa Clara - Student NewspaperThis collection includes The Santa Clara student newspaper issues from 1922 through 2013, and have been digitized from the microfilm reels of the newspapers stored in SCU's Archives & Special Collections Department.
- Turrill-Miller Photograph CollectionThe Turrill-Miller Photograph Collection consists of over 300 photographs documenting the historic buildings and campus life of Santa Clara College (now known as Santa Clara University), from 1905-1920.
- Voyages and CastawaysThis group of books focuses on 18th and 19th Century travel narratives, fiction and non-fiction, with themes of ocean voyages, strange new lands, shipwrecks, and pirates - subjects that excited the imaginations of readers of the day.
- William M. Tipton CollectionIn order to read old governmental documents from New Mexico from its time under the governance of Spain and Mexico, Tipton learned Spanish and began to develop skilled understanding of land grants and how to handle Spanish language documents specifically. Throughout his life, Tipton complied lists of Spanish terms with the hope of adding them to a Spanish-English dictionary. These lists make up the majority of his personal papers.
- Women's Recreational Association ScrapbooksThe Women's Recreational Association (WRA) scrapbooks were compiled by Marygrace Colby. Colby was hired by Santa Clara University in 1963, two years after women students were admitted to SCU. Her charge was to "direct and instruct women students in various recreational and athletic pursuits."