Research Guides: Resources on Roman Art and Architecture : Reference Sources on Art

Reference Sources on Art

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, this online resource contains several reference works on art. Most important is Grove's Dictionary of Art, the largest and most comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts that has ever been published. Don't start any research on art without checking this source.
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, this database contains several reference works on art. Most important is Groves Dictionary of Art, the most highly respected encyclopedia of art in the English language.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
This 2-volume encyclopedia contains authoritative articles on all aspects of the art of ancient Greece and Italy, such as ancient cities, monuments, artists, architectural decoration, and various types of artistic media. The articles conclude with scholarly bibliographies, which are useful guides to the most important publications to turn to next for more information.
Encyclopedia of Sculpture
International in scope, covering the entire history of three-dimensional art from prehistoric times to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this well illustrated reference work is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of sculpture ever published. It includes articles on individual sculptors, major works of art, media, techniques, and surveys of the sculpture of individual countries throughout history.
Looking at Greek and Roman Sculpture in Stone
What is an acroterion? Where did Carrara marble come from? Plentifully illustrated with photographs, mostly in color, this book defines and describes the many terms, styles, and techniques that one needs to know in order to fully understand ancient stone sculpture.