ENVS 120 - Introduction to Environmental Law and Regulation in the US

Air quality trends and historical information.

Table lists standards for six principal pollutants: carbon dioxide, sulfur dioxide, carbon monoxide, lead, particulates, ozone. Each pollutant has a link that leads to a page detailing its emission sources (at national, state, and local levels), and more.

Compare air quality in up to 3 states or up to 10 counties in one state of multiple states.

See link to Excel chart: "1970-2012 Average annual emissions." Each xls sheet has data from specific pollutant; e.g., NOX breaks down data into fuel type, vehicles, waste disposal, etc. From EPA's National Emissions Inventory.

Cap-and-trade and other market-based air programs. Under Data & Maps, see Air Market Program Data: maps and reports on top emitters, an xls chart of state emissions in 3 pollutants, according to what criteria you choose.

Starting point for links to CA emissions data (by source, by region, etc.), types of emissions, health effects of emissions, and more.

Interactive site allows you to select various factors: season, pollutant, year(s), source types, geographic area. Then run a report on what you have selected.

Page not updated since 2009, but look for the link to current Ambient Air Quality Standards Chart (pdf), which lists 11 pollutants and compares CA and national standards. Each pollutant has a link to more detailed information, such as concentrations over time.

This NASA site's key indicators include CO2 concentration, surface temperature, sea ice, land ice, and sea level, typically displayed as graphs and in graphic metrics.

A seminal climate change agency. Pubs & Data link > "AR4 Synthesis Report" contains data, tables, charts.

Data from a number of federal and international agencies are collected here.

Annual State of the Climate reports includes graphs and charts as well as text. You can view each report's highlights, which includes graphs; download by chapters; or download each entire report.From the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) provides state information: overview page with map; data tab provides consumption of various types of energy and U.S. rank for each type; analysis tab. Sources & Uses tab at top provides data on national use for various types of energy.

Data and brief analysis for 200+ countries.

EIA's data-rich site for state energy information includes estimates of energy production, consumption, prices, and expenditures broken down by energy source and sector.

CA Energy Commission data for gas and electric consumption. Generate Excel reports by geographic area and by sector: residential, commercial, industrial.

California's pesticide use reporting program is recognized as the most comprehensive in the world. In 1990, California became the first state to require full reporting of agricultural pesticide use in response to demands for more realistic and comprehensive pesticide use data.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - Statistics Division

The database tracks $425 billion in farm subsidies from commodity, crop insurance, disaster programs and conservation payments paid between 1995 and 2020‡

Provides worldwide and country-specific statistics on a broad range of subjects, listed A-Z under the Data tab.

"Access Drinking Water Information Online" link leads to list of pdf annual reports and statistics that include state information and substance violations.

Link to the portal provides the best data, searchable by country. Topic areas--water and climate change, drinking water, etc.--provide overviews and useful related links in the right sidebar.

U.S. Geological Survey categories include water quality, groundwater, surface water, and current conditions. In the Geographic Area searchbox at upper right, you can search by state. The site includes a searchable U.S. map.

See statistics for topics such as drinking water and freshwater supply in either pdf or Excel worksheet.

Cal-Adapt has been designed to provide access the wealth of data and information that has been, and continues to be, produced by the State's scientific and research community. The data available in this site offer a view of how climate change might affect California at the local level. Here you can work with visualization tools, access data, and participate in community sharing to contribute your own knowledge.