Web Resources - ENVS 120 - Introduction to Environmental Law and Regulation in the US - Research Guides at Santa Clara University

Web Resources for Environmental Policy

WEB WARNING ABCs

Authority - Is the website from an authoritative source? Check "About Us."
Bias - Is the website trying to sell you goods or an idea?
Currency - Is the information current? Check the website date

Although excellent .org, .com, .net sites exist, use the search engine's Advanced Search to get more
reliable results by limiting the domain name to .gov or .edu -- or use Google Scholar.

Web Resources for Environmental Politics & Policy

GENERAL l AIR l CLIMATE CHANGE l ENDANGERED SPECIES l INTERNATIONAL l WATER

GENERAL
Environmental Law Institute (ELI)
ELI is a "non-partisan research and education center working to" improve law and governance worldwide. Many of its research publications are freely available online.
EPA Laws and Regulations
Browse for specific laws and regulations on the Environmental Protection Agency website.
NRDC: U.S. Law & Policy
National Resources Defense Council, a prominent environmental NGO, provides a Legislative Watch bulletin as well as information and analyses on climate legislation.
On the Commons
This online community highlights commons-based solutions at the community and national level. Advocacy-based, the site provides connections to organizations, members, and ideas in a variety of topic areas, including politics and government.
AIR
EPA: Clean Air Act
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the lead federal agency on environmental law and its protections, provides the full Clean Air Act, its history, amendments, and a primer on the evolving science that informs air pollution policy.
Timeline: Clean Air Act
The Environmental Defense Fund, a pro-environment organization, displays a detailed timeline to the Clean Air Act. "Clean Air Act at 35" is a detailed report.
CLIMATE CHANGE
EPA: Climate Change Indicators
EPA partners with more than 40 data contributors from various government agencies, academic institutions, and other organizations to compile a key set of indicators related to the causes and effects of climate change. The indicators are published in EPA's report, Climate Change Indicators in the United States, available on this website and in print.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
IPCC's Publications and Data (see sidebar link) provide information that informs international climate change protocols.
World Resources Institute: Climate
WRI, a leading environmental think tank, provides fact sheets and analyses of U.S. climate policy.
ENDANGERED SPECIES
EPA: Endangered Species
This summary page provides links to the full act as well as to EPA's Endangered Species Protection Program and the lead agencies for implementing the act.
Fish & Wildlife Service: Endangered Species Laws & Policies
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service's Endangered Species Laws & Policies site includes a history of the act and other publications, international resources, etc.
National Academies Press: Science and the Endangered Species Act
Online book published in 1995 is available chapter by chapter: Species Definition, Habitat Conservation, Risk, etc. You can download the PDF for free!
NOAA: Endangered Species Act
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Protected Resources has information on marine species, programs, and more.
INTERNATIONAL
Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL)
A nonprofit that helps strengthen international environmental law, CIEL programs include climate and biodiversity. Online publications in these and other programs.
CITES: Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species
Main international agreement to protect species worldwide. CITES site explains how it works, the structure, what species are listed, online publications on CITES history, and more.
CITES in the United States
This Fish and Wildlife Service site details the CITES treaty, how the U.S. implements the treaty, biennial reports, etc.
HG.org Guide to Environmental Law
HG.org, a network of law firms, has put together a list of links/descriptions to major environmental laws, especially international law and policy.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
UNEP's Publications webpage includes both fee and free publications. UNEP Environmental Governance, for example, is available as a free download.
WATER
EPA: Water
Under "Laws," provides a summary of the Clean Water Act and links to the act and its history.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

ENVS 120 - Introduction to Environmental Law and Regulation in the US

Get Help 24/7

Web Resources for Environmental Policy