Research Guides: THTR 2A: Critical Thinking &amp; Writing II (Ridley): Biographies

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

SOURCES FOR BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

The following are good resources in which to find short biographies and information about the careers of playwrights.

Gale Literature Resource Center
Containing articles from many literary reference books, this online database is an excellent source to find biographical information about authors from all times and places. Type your playwright's name in the "Person-By-or-About" search box with the surname first (for example - - Wilson, August). Then click the link near the top of the page to see the results that are Biographies. The full text of all of these articles is available immediately within the database.

Gale in Context: Biography
This online database contains full-text articles on over 500,000 people active in many occupations, from all times and places. It includes many important playwrights.