Mass Incarceration
- Criminal Justice Reform- Southern Poverty Law CenterInformation and resources about the SPLC's efforts to to reform the criminal justice and immigration enforcement systems.
- Mass Incarceration Resources- American Friends Service CommitteeResources to help people learn more about the problem of mass incarceration and join AFSC work to end it.
- States of IncarcerationStates of Incarceration explores the roots of mass incarceration in local communities—to open national dialogue on what should happen next.
Systemic Racism & Racial Justice
- Anti-Racism ResourcesResources from the Race & Equity Initiative at University of Washington to gain a deeper understanding of historical and present-day manifestations of racism in the United States.
- Police Reform ResourcesA clearinghouse for ideas and approaches to police reform from the SCU library.
- Racial Justice ResourcesRacial justice materials available through SCU's Library (books, videos, and databases) and some publicly-available resources (podcasts, digital humanities projects).
- Resources for Exploring Systematic RacismResources exploring systemic racism in the United States from the Duke University Global Health Institute.
Mercy & Redemption
- Called to Justice: A Conversation with Bryan StevensonA conversation between Bryan Stevenson and Brian Tome, the chief pastor of Crossroads Church about justice, fairness, and mercy.
Restorative Justice
- An Overview of the History and Theory of Transformative JusticeAn article dedicated to the historical overview, political development, and philosophy of
transformative justice, with a primary focus on the United States - Centre for Justice and ReconciliationThe Centre for Justice & Reconciliation is internationally recognized as experts on the use of restorative justice.
- Understanding Restorative JusticeBook chapter from In the Shadow of Death: Restorative Justice and Death Row Families by Elizabeth Beck, Sarah Britto, and Arlene Andrews
Children & the Criminal Justice System
- Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs)Information about Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) and impact on future violence victimization and perpetration, and lifelong health and opportunity.
- Children in Adult PrisonOverview of issues related to children in adult prison from the Equal Justice Initiative.
- Teachers Unite ResourcesResources and toolkit to resist the school to prison pipeline by implementing alternative justice processes within schools.
- What is the School to Prison Pipeline?Lesson plan to understand the School-to-Prison Pipeline, learn about its history and evolution and begin to plan some activities to teach others about it and take action.
Music
- Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find books and articles from international music periodicals on all aspects of classical and popular music worldwide, published from 1970 to the present.
- Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online resource that cross-searches and gives access to nearly 8 million music tracks in the following streaming music databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Updated continuously.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowThis database provides encyclopedia articles on classical, popular, and folk music from all eras and areas of the world.
African American Arts by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781684481569Publication Date: 2019-12-06Signaling such recent activist and aesthetic concepts in the work of Kara Walker, Childish Gambino, BLM, Janelle Monáe, and Kendrick Lamar, and marking the exit of the Obama Administration and the opening of the National Museum of African American History and Culture, this anthology explores the role of African American arts in shaping the future, and further informing new directions we might take in honoring and protecting the success of African Americans in the U.S.
The Gospel According to the Blues by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780718843632Publication Date: 2015-03-26'The Gospel According to the Blues' dares us to read Jesus's Sermon on the Mount in conversation with Robert Johnson, Son House, and Muddy Waters.
Black Lives Matter and Music by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780253038432Publication Date: 2018-08-10In this collection of critical studies, contributors draw from ethnographic research and personal encounters to illustrate how scholarly research of, approaches to, and teaching about the role of music in the Black Lives Matter movement can contribute to public awareness of the social, economic, political, scientific, and other forms of injustices in our society.
