CLAS 11A/12A: Cultures & Ideas I and II: Ancient Spaces (Matlock)

One of the most important projects in the field of classical studies in recent years, this atlas contains stunningly beautiful topographic maps of the entire world of the Greeks and Romans, from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and North Africa.

This atlas focuses on the great civilizations of the ancient world, from the third millennium BCE to the 15th century CE. Included are Egypt, Mesopotamia, Asia Minor, the early Aegean, the Greeks, the Romans, the peoples with whom the Roman Empire came into contact, and the Byzantine Empire. The maps are thematic, depicting military and political history, as well as many other aspects of ancient culture. Extensive commentary facing the maps explains the historical background, summarizes the sources of information on which the maps are based, and provides bibliographies of the primary and secondary sources to turn to next for more information.

Twenty years in the making, this monumental two-volume work provides a comprehensive archaeological survey of the city of Rome from its prehistoric origins to the sixth century CE. Illustrated with full-color maps, drawings, photographs, and 3D reconstructions, it examines the city's topography, administrative divisions, and urban infrastructure, with profiles of more than 500 monuments and works of art.

More than an atlas, this reference book contains articles about ancient archaeological sites around the world, including in east Asia, Greece and the Aegean, and the central Mediterranean. In addition to discussing the history of the sites and the archaeological ruins that have been excavated there, the articles also include maps, plans of the ruins, and bibliographies that recommend books and articles to turn to next for more information.

Beautifully illustrated, this reference book provides an excellent introduction to some of the most important archaeological sites and finds from around the world, from the earliest paleolithic times to the industrial age in the 19th century.

This encyclopedia covers all aspects of archaeology as a discipline. It also includes articles about archaeological finds and exploration in all parts of the world, including China and ancient Greece and Rome.

This two-volume encyclopedia provides valuable background on the history of major archaeological sites and works of art from the ancient Greek and Roman worlds, and the explorers and archaeologists who discovered and studied them. Scholars living at the time the encyclopedia was published are not included.

The articles in this book provide historical, geographical, and archaeological information about the most important geographical locations in the ancient Greek, Etruscan, and Roman world, from the first millennium BCE to the later fifth century CE.

This reference work contains brief articles about gardens of all types throughout the world, from ancient times to the present day. Topics covered range from horticultural and scientific aspects of gardens, the social history of gardens, and individual gardens and gardens in specific places, such as Rome or Pompeii.

This one-volume encyclopedia is an excellent source of information on archaeological sites that show remains today from the Greco-Roman classical period, from the mid-eighth century BCE to the early sixth century CE. The articles provide detailed summaries of the existing remains and what is known about them, and the bibliographies at the end of the articles recommend the archaeological site reports and other publications to turn to next for more information.

This one-volume encyclopedia contains articles that summarize the history of the buildings and monuments, as well as the geographical and topographical features, of the ancient city of Rome, from the earliest occupation of the area to the 6th century CE . Christian churches and tombs are excluded. The bibliographies at the end of the articles provide valuable citations to significant sources for further information, written by both ancient and modern authors.