Research Guides: HIST 68: Global 1968 (Brillman): Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

The reason you look for scholarly articles is to find out what other scholars have said about your topic. Because this is a history class, you want to find articles with a historical perspective. Your best bet is to use the database Historical Abstracts to find articles published in history journals. However, depending on your topic, you might also want to use other multidisciplinary databases that include articles from journals in other disciplines (humanities in general, political science, sociology, etc.).

Start with the databases below:

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This full-text database includes over 1.5M articles from more than 300 small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present, this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database covers the history of the world (except the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward. It provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, as well as access to the full text of more than 316 journals and more than 138 books.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, from 1984-present. The full text of many of these articles is available online from 1995 forward. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

HIST 68: Global 1968 (Brillman)

Scholarly Journals

Finding Scholarly Articles