Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind out if the library has specific journals, magazines, or newspapers, either electronically or in print.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Music, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and More
The following databases are among the most useful for finding articles on your topic:
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find scholarly articles in history journals and books published since 1964 on topics related to North American history and culture. This is a good source to use to find information on the representation of events that happened in the past in French Canada.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis is the basic index to journal articles published since 1929 in the field of art. It is an excellent source for finding articles on images and the visual representation of events and people, in both photographs and other works of art. The full text (but often not the illustrations) of some of the articles is available online back to 1995.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find articles on all aspects of communication studies in academic journals, popular magazines, and other types of publications. It is an excellent source for finding articles on the representation of people and events in the mass media and other forms of human communication. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find journal articles and other materials related to film and television research. It also includes over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive. It is an excellent source for finding articles on how people and events have been represented in motion pictures and television programs.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database covers scholarly books and journal articles published since 1955 on the history of all parts of the world, except for the United States and Canada. It is a good source for finding information about the representations of events and people of the Francophone world, with the exception of French Canada.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database lists books and articles written since 1926 on all modern languages and their literatures, including French. All the articles listed in it are scholarly. It is a good place to find information about the representation of events and people in books and other types of written media, as well as in films and television programs.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find articles in scholarly journals and other publications in the social sciences, including such fields as education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, and sociology. It is a good place to find articles on the representations of people and events in more recent times in the Francophone world.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis database tells where to find articles published since 1983 in journals in the social sciences. It indexes the most important journals in such fields as anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, and economics. It is a good source for finding information about the representation of people and events in the Francophone world, especially in more recent times
Tips for Finding More Articles
The following searching tips will help you find more articles on your subject.
-You can enter synonyms or related terms in the same search box. For example, you could enter images or photographs in one search box.
-You can also use an asterisk at the end of a word to retrieve various endings. For example, image* would retrieve image as well as images.
-Limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" if you only want articles from scholarly journals.
-When you look at your list of results in the database, if the full-text of an article is not readily available, click on the "Find It @ SCU Libraries" icon to see if it's available in another database or in print in the library. If it's not, you will have the option of using the Interlibrary Loan Service. It's free and very fast!