Librarian
Anthropology Databases
SCU Library subscribes to hundreds of databases to put information in your hands that is usually behind a paywall.
We have 17 databases tagged for anthropological research, the most popular following below.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Plus is the combination of two databases: Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute (UK). It is an index to journal articles, reports, and edited works in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and folklore. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is the online collection of all 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). With materials dating back more than 100 years, AnthroSource journals support the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.
- Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts of articles from several hundred journals covering all aspects of anthropology (cultural, physical, archaeology, linguistics). 2002-present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles at least one column in length from over 544 different English language periodicals in the social sciences, which includes anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, geography, urban studies, and more. Fulltext of articles are available from about 175 of these periodicals. Indexing goes back to 1983. Abstracts began with January 1994. Fulltext availability varies title to title, but may go back to 1995. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1983, use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowContains more than 1,800 full-text articles and over 14,000 abstracts from scholarly journals and dissertations in the social sciences such as criminal justice, education, language behavior, linguistics, political science, sociology, etc.
You may need to search databases not typically tagged for anthropological research depending on your topic.
Browse databases by subject available through SCU Library or make an appointment with the anthropology librarian.
Religious Studies Databases
SCU Library subscribes to hundreds of databases to put information in your hands that is usually behind a paywall.
We have 17 databases tagged for research in religious studies, the most popular following below.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowIndex to periodicals, research in ministry, book reviews in religion and Methodist reviews. 1949-present. Updated semi-annually. Includes online versions of the entire runs of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion, most of which go back to 1949.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. Coverage: 1950 to present.
Searching More Than One Database at a Time
You may need to search databases not typically tagged for anthropological research depending on your topic.
Browse databases by subject available through SCU Library or make an appointment with the anthropology librarian.
Video showing how to search multiple EBSCO databases at once:
Video showing how to use OneSearch for multidisciplinary research:
Video showing how to pick a subject-specific database, for interdisciplinary research:
Search OSCAR for Anthropolgy Books
Utilize the advanced search in OSCAR to find books on your topic.
Books may be described different in OSCAR than articles are in the databases. So, sometimes you need to use larger concepts rather than very specific ones. For example, North American Indigenous ceremonies rather than tobacco, north america, and indigenous.
In the following screenshot there is a very sophisticated search going on:
- Multiple keywords
- Boolean operators AND and OR, which narrow and expand the search, respectively
- Use of the asterisk * to broaden any ending of a word (acts as a wildcard)
- Limited to ebooks
- Limited to English
Use these options to suit your needs. You can also limit by physical books.
