Resources
To find books on your topic:
1. Go to OSCAR, the library catalog:
-
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
2. Enter keywords describing your topic. For example:
Chanel Miller - Know My Name
Identity and Sexual Assault
Feminism and healing
3. REMINDER: Always check the locations of the books in OSCAR. Some books are located in the ARS (Automated Retrieval System) and you need to request them, while some are in the stacks on the first floor of the library by call number.
To find Books
To find eBooks
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online encyclopedia articles, images and multimedia related to science and technology.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to psychology journals, books, and dissertations. It is THE source for starting any psychology research project. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe weekly news and information resource for U.S. higher education since 1966. Internet edition includes everything in the print edition as well as additional online-only features and links to relevant outside information. Online archive includes everything published in the print version back to 1989.
- Diversity at Santa Clara University This link opens in a new windowInformation on diversity at SCU and in Santa Clara Valley. Links to electronic resources in diversity.
- Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to over 500 active professional and scholarly education journals. Dates of coverage vary by title, some go back to 1900. Updates vary.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles on gender and women's studies, LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) by authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
What can I find with OneSearch?
OneSearch includes over 1 million items, including books, journal articles, conference proceedings, audio/visual media, dissertations, reports, and other research resources in subscription journals and databases. OneSearch provides direct links to full-text items where available. You will also find:
- OSCAR records for books, journals, government documents, maps, scores, and media in all formats
- Articles from scholarly and peer-reviewed journals
- Newspaper and Magazine articles
- SCU Digital Library materials
