Welcome
Books / eBooks
LGBTQ America Today
LGBTQ Life in America
Resources
- Brother Outsider: The Life of Bayard RustinBrother Outsider: The Life of Bayard Rustin asks "Why?" It presents a vivid drama, intermingling the personal and the political, about one of the most enigmatic figures in 20th-century American history. One of the first "freedom riders," an adviser to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and A. Philip Randolph, organizer of the march on Washington, intelligent, gregarious and charismatic, Bayard Rustin was denied his place in the limelight for one reason - he was gay.
- ChangeAn African-American teenager grapples with his sexual identity on the night Barack Obama is elected President and Proposition 8"”the California voter initiative to eliminate same-sex marriage"”is passed. When one of Jamie's friend group initiates the bullying of an openly gay classmate, Jamie uses his wits to try and prevent it, but when things don't go the way he predicted, he is forced to face his fears head on. Winner of the Audience Award for Best Short Film at Frameline35: The San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, Change is a poetic and moving film which deftly examines one young man's internal identity struggles within the context of the modern movement for LGBT rights, and a high school experience fraught with peer pressure.
- Moonlight**Oscar-winner** for Best Picture, MOONLIGHT is a moving and transcendent look at three defining chapters in the life of Chiron, a young man growing up in Miami. His epic journey to adulthood, as a shy outsider dealing with difficult circumstances, is guided by support, empathy and love from the most unexpected places.
- They.Fourteen-year-old J goes by the pronoun 'They' and lives with their parents in the suburbs of Chicago. J is exploring their gender identity while taking hormone blockers to postpone puberty. After two years of medication and therapy, J has to make a decision about whether or not to transition; over this crucial weekend, while their parents are away, J's sister Lauren and her maybe/maybe-not boyfriend Araz arrive to take care of 'They.' Nominated for the Golden Camera and the Queer Palm at the **Cannes Film Festival**. Nominated for the Gold Hugo in the New Directors Competition and the Gold Q-Hugo at the **Chicago International Film Festival**. *"A mature and moving study of childhood, growth and identity." - Nikki Baughan
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text scholarly and popular articles, journals, magazines, and regional newspapers on current or historically significant LGBTQ issues, studies, queer theory, and more.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThis database provides scholarly essays, journal articles, historic newspapers, fiction, poetry, archival records, and literary reviews in Black Studies. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals), the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) and and the Daily Defender (1956-1975).
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowThis database provides primary resources from the 16th to 20th centuries on the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender studies research along with LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) history and activism, psychology, and cultural studies. The library subscribes to Module 1: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part 1: primary sources on social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ globally, and Module 3: Sex and Sexuality examining sexual norms and gender roles over time.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles on gender and women's studies, LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) by authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a digital collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers relating to feminist, dissident, campus radical, Native American, anti-war activist, Black Power, Hispanic, LGBT activist, the extreme right-wing publications of the alternative and small press archives from the latter half of the 20th century.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers (many of them bilingual) published between 1808 - 1980. Included are newspapers from California, Texas, New Mexico, New York, and many other states.