Resources
1. Go to OSCAR, the library catalog:
-
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
2. Enter keywords describing your topic. For example
- HISTORY / Indigenous Peoples of the Americas
- Native Americans and California
- Indigenous and United States
3. Be sure to check book locations in OSCAR. Some books are located in the ARS (Automated Retrieval System) and you need to request them, while some are in the stacks on the lower level of the library by call number.
Use OneSearch for Broad Searching
OneSearch is a simple search engine that allows you to search simultaneously for books, articles, and more available at SCU Library. OneSearch brings together content of a large selection of our subscribed e-journals and databases, our library catalog, and our digital library collections in a single search interface. It can be a good starting point for interdisciplinary research, which you then might augment with some discipline-specific databases. Access OneSearch directly on the Library homepage. Learn more about OneSearch here.
What is a Database?
A database in general is a collection of information organized to be searched by computer. On the SCU Library Website, our electronic databases are collections of articles or in-depth reports that you can retrieve online.
The library has subscriptions to both general databases (example: EbscoHost Academic Search Premier) or subject-specific databases, such as English or Communications or Ethnic Studies, among many others. These databases usually provide full-text access to journal articles.
-
Academic Search Complete A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present, this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
-
Humanities Full Text Indexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, from 1984-present. The full text of many of these articles is available online from 1995 forward. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.