ENGL 15: Intro to Cultural Studies & Literary Theory (Morgan)

SEARCHING A DATABASE

The most effective way to search the online databases is to enter terms or keywords that effectively describe your topic.

• Use broad, meaningful keywords when you search. Don't use sentences or phrases.
• Use just a few keywords (1-3). You can always add keywords later if you need to refine your search.
• Use the "limit to" feature to filter your search.
• When you review your results, look at the abstracts or subject headings for other keywords you can use to improve your search.
• Be prepared to do many searches. Remember:  Research is never linear. It is a cycle and it takes time! 

KEYWORDS TO USE IN DATABASES: 

Great Gatsby and critical analysis 

Great Gatsby and analysis 

Literature Databases

• Gale Literature Resource Center 

  Provides the full text of literary criticism and reviews, biographies, original works of literature, multimedia resources, and links to selected web resources on authors and their works. Covers 130,000 authors from all times and places. Updated continually.

• Gale Literature Criticism 

  The full text of over 190,000 essays providing criticism of literature from around the world, in all genres, and from all time periods from antiquity to contemporary emerging authors. The essays discuss individual authors and their works, literary movements and topics, and the social, political, and historical background that provides contextual perspective for the study of literature. Updated continually.

• MLA International Bibliography 

  Indexes scholarly research published in journal articles, books, articles in books, and dissertations in the fields of modern languages and their literatures, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes the full text of more than 1,000 journals in these fields. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. 1926 - present.

• JSTOR 

  Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.

• OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) 

  This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.