Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowSearch for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
- Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new windowA team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
Ancient Primary Sources
These online databases are excellent sources for finding the original texts of ancient writings, and images of works of art and archaeological ruins, from ancient Greece and Rome and the neighboring cultures with which they came in contact.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowOriginally founded by James Loeb in 1911 to make available all the written works surviving from the ancient Greek and Roman world, this database provides fully searchable, high-quality online editions of the original texts in Greek and Latin, with English translations facing them. This is an excellent place for finding the primary sources in which ancient authors told us about their world.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowThis database contains more than 2.5 million high-quality digital images that are freely available for educational and research use. Containing reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, it is an excellent source in which to find images of buildings and works of art from ancient Greece and Rome and the neighboring cultures with which they came in contact.
- Perseus Digital LibraryThis is perhaps the most important single free Web site in the field of classical studies. It supplies the text in Greek, Latin, and (often) English translation of the works of many ancient authors. It also provides the texts of more recent books on aspects of the ancient world, and thousands of pictures of art objects, sites, and buildings. If you do research on the ancient world on the free Internet, and don't check out the Perseus Digital Library, your research will simply be incomplete.