Databases
Diversity Collection
A collection of three full-text databases, namely GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. GenderWatch provides access to over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of the ethnic, minority and native presses as well as many journals concerned with issues of race and ethnicity, with archival material back to 1985. Alt-PressWatch includes over 1.5M articles from more than 300 small sources including unique, independent voices from respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the arts and all viewpoints across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
America: History and Life with Full Text
This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present, this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.
American Periodicals
American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Oxford Reference
A collection containing over 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a broad spectrum of subjects from general reference and language to science and medicine, and from humanities and social sciences to business and professional.
Making of America
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. It includes approximately 16,000 books and 50,000 journal articles published in the 19th century, searchable by subject.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The original source is provided so you know where to look for more in-depth data. 2013-present. The Library has the 1878-2012 editions in print.
Research Encyclopedias
Below are the research encyclopedias that all students doing research on Asian Pacific Americans should know about. You should always begin your research by consulting them.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today by ISBN: 9780313347498Publication Date: 2009College students ARE the main audience for this very current encyclopedia focusing on the social problems confronting Asian Americans today. Essays are organized thematically. Each ends with source notes and a list of recommend readings. This is well worth coming to the library to access!
Asian American History and Culture by ISBN: 9780765680778Publication Date: 2010This 2-volume encyclopedia has immigration histories and cultural essays on 21 Asian American groups. After a 90 p. introductory essay "The Asian American Experience," the other essays are organized around the 21 different groups. Each essay has "further reading," & volume 2 has a huge bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by ISBN: 0816040931Publication Date: 2000Despite its small size, this is a major comprehensive reference tool for studying Japanese American history, a very scholarly work produced under the auspices of the Japanese American National Museum.
Asian and Pacific Islander Americans by ISBN: 9781587658600Publication Date: 2012This is a 3-volume set with more than 480 entries, part of the series Great Lives from History. The editor, Gary Okihiro, of Columbia University’s Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race, has identified essential biographies, attempting to encompass a broad range of national backgrounds and profiling the most notable names “considered successes in their various fields.” Articles include references for further reading and, occasionally, sidebars on related topics. Black-and-white photos are included for the majority of profiles.
Asian American Society by ISBN: 9781452281902Publication Date: 2014Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience. The next two volumes of this work contain approximately 200 annotated primary documents, organized chronologically, that detail the impact American society has had on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. (Publisher)
Asian American Religious Cultures by ISBN: 9781598843309Publication Date: 2015This encyclopedia provides a single source for authoritative information on the Asian American and Pacific Islander religious experience, addressing South Asian Americans, such as Indian Americans and Pakistani Americans; East Asian Americans, including Chinese Americans, Japanese Americans, and Korean Americans; and Southeast Asian Americans, whose ethnicities include Filipino Americans, Thai Americans, and Vietnamese Americans. Pacific Islanders include Hawaiians, Samoans, Marshallese, Tongan, and Chamorro. The coverage includes not only traditional eastern belief systems and traditions such as Buddhism, Confucianism, and Hinduism as well as Micronesian and Polynesian religious traditions in the United States, but also the culture and religious rituals of Asian American Christians. (Publisher)
Asian Americans by ISBN: 9781598842395Publication Date: 2013Written by leading scholars in their fields of expertise and authorities in diverse professions, the entries devote attention to diverse Asian and Pacific Islander American groups as well as the roles of women, distinct socioeconomic classes, Asian American political and social movements, and race relations involving Asian Americans. (Publisher)
Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife by ISBN: 0313350663Publication Date: 2010Equally instructive and intriguing, the Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife provides an illuminating overview of Asian American folklore as a way of life. Surveying the histories, peoples, and cultures of numerous Asian American ethnic and cultural groups, the work covers everything from ancient Asian folklore, folktales, and folk practices that have been transmitted and transformed in America to new expressions of Asian American folklore and folktales unique to the Asian American historical and contemporary experiences.
The encyclopedia's three comprehensive volumes cover an extraordinarily wide range of Asian American cultural and ethnic groups, as well as mixed-race and mixed-heritage Asian Americans. Each group section is introduced by a historical overview essay followed by short entries on topics such as ghosts and spirits, clothes and jewelry, arts and crafts, home decorations, family and community, religious practices, rituals, holidays, music, foodways, literature, traditional healing and medicine, and much, much more. Topics and theories are examined from cross-cultural and interdisciplinary perspectives to add to the value of the work. (Publisher)
Asian American Leadership by ISBN: 0990730042Publication Date: 2015An authoritative, up-to-date reference guide organized in A to Z fashion covering all the major inter-disciplinary themes related to individual and group leadership in the Asian American communities and beyond. (Credo description)
