Quick Links
- Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowSearch for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
- Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new windowA team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.
Humanities Librarian
Leanna Goodwater
Contact:
University Library
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
lgoodwater@scu.edu
408-554-5434
Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, English, Ethics, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Theatre & Dance
Reference Books on Women Artists
The following books provide an excellent start when doing research on American women artists in a wide variety of media.
Reference Books on Artists
The following reference books are useful sources of information about American artists of all genders.
- Dictionary of Artists / BenezitThis large multivolume set is one of the most comprehensive and scholarly dictionaries of artists. It contains articles on many obscure artists who are not included in other encyclopedias.
- Thieme, U. and F. Becker. Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Künstler von der Antike bis zur GegenwartUsually referred to as Thieme-Becker, the last names of its two editors, this German-language, multi-volume encyclopedia is one of the most comprehensive and scholarly dictionaries of artists. Brief articles about many obscure artists who are not included in other encyclopedias can be found here.
- Saur Allgemeines KünstlerlexikonA sequel to Thieme-Becker, this multi-volume Geman-language encyclopedia provides brief articles about artists active since 1950, when Thieme-Becker was completed. It also is a valuable source for finding information on obscure artists who are not included in other encyclopedias.
The following two reference books provide useful introductions to the lives, work, and contributions of influential artists from around the world during the latter half of the twentieth century.
- Contemporary ArtistsThis reference book provides background on the lives and careers of the world's most prominent and influential artists who are still living or who died after 1965. Most articles are illustrated with a representative work by the artist.
- Contemporary ArchitectsThis reference book provides background on the lives and careers of the world's most prominent and influential architects who are still living or who have died in the recent past. Most articles are illustrated with a representative work by the artist.
- Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture [ONLINE RESOURCE]This book provides insightful articles on architects who have significantly influenced the course of modern Western architecture.
- Contemporary PhotographersThis book provides background on the lives and careers of the world's most prominent and influential photographers who are still living or who have died in the recent past. Most articles are illustrated with a representative work by the artist.
- Modern Arts CriticismThis four-volume set gathers together critical commentary by leading art historians about some of the major painters, sculptors, photographers, and architects active since the mid-nineteenth century.
- Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975This three-volume set contains brief articles on deceased American artists from 400 years of American art.