Demographics vs Psychographics
Demographics refer to statistical data (age, gender, income, etc.) collected for a particular population.
Psychographics refer to information about a particular population's attitudes, aspirations, and other lifestyle criteria.
Companies use both psychographic and demographic information in order to segment their markets, establish spending patterns, and create the best buying experiences for their customers.
Be mindful: Finding detailed psychometric data is always expensive unless you're compiling it yourself (sometimes even more costly). Lean on the resources below as much as possible.
Information on Consumer Behavior
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowProvides expert analysis reports on American and UK consumer trends, as well as Consumer data analytics for Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and Africa, as well as North America.
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as eMarketer, this database provides business forecasts, market data analysis, as well as statistics on Internat, eCommerce, online marketing, social media, and key performance indicators in marketing, advertising, retail, and eCommerce. Updated several times a year.
- Nielsen InsightsGlobal leader in audience measurement, data and analytics. Includes featured insights on digital consumers.
- GWIGlobal market research and insight reports on brands, consumers, and more.
- American Customer Satisfaction IndexThe American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the only national cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States. The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
- Comscore RankingsAmerican media measurement and analytics company which provides industry rankings for digital media, mobile, social, gaming, etc. Stickiness Index is clever, and data is akin to "Insider Intelligence," see above in this list.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowThis database provides economic, geographic, and individual market data for countries and regions worldwide. Main sectors include Industries, Channels, Products, Consumers and Economies. From each area, it is possible to narrow search parameters to find what you need. There is an Update Schedule that details information projections well into 2040.
- Claritas - MyBestSegmentsSneak peek of Claritas’ lifestyle segmentation system. This ZIP Code Look-up lets you view your neighborhood’s household segments by income, race, age, etc. The distinct lifestyle types are helpful for targeting like-minded consumers.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics - Consumer Expenditure SurveysData "provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics."
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis database provides information on American public and private businesses. Data provided ranges from addresses, number of employees, sales figures, credit score, type of location (branch, subsidiary, headquarters), SIC code, to line of business (e.g. computer software). Updated monthly.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.