Your Librarian
Library Chat
Getting Started
One place to start is with a tool the library has called CQ Researcher. CQ researcher has reports, pro/con statements, "hot topic" articles, and lots of suggestions for further research.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThis database covers the most current and controversial issues of the day complete with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Full text of all articles published since 1991.
Enter "immigration" into the search bar on the main page.
You'll get a list of results that go back in time. Looking through them can help you identify a "tipping point" to focus on for your assignment. You can use the date filter to focus on a particular year.
Here's the most recent article in CQ Researcher on this topic:
Helpful Websites
-
Center for Consitutional RightsThe Center for Constitutional Rights is dedicated to advancing and protecting the rights guaranteed by the United States Constitution and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
-
Immigrant Legal Resource CenterThe Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national nonprofit resource center that provides immigration legal trainings, technical assistance, and educational materials, and engages in advocacy and immigrant civic engagement to advance immigrant rights.
-
Immigrants RisingSan Francisco-based advocacy organization founded in 2006.
-
Immigration & Migration (Pew Research Center)Find reports, data, and information about immigration and migration from the Pew Research Center, which is a "a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."
-
Migration Policy InstituteFind reports, statistics, and more, compiled by the Migration Policy Institute, a nonpartisan research institute.
-
Missing Migrants Project (United Nations)This United Nations' project includes information about missing migrants recorded in the Americas since 2014.
-
National Immigration Law Center"Established in 1979, the National Immigration Law Center (NILC) is one of the leading advocacy organizations in the U.S. dedicated to advancing and defending the rights and opportunities of low-income immigrants and their loved ones."
-
United We DreamThe largest immigrant youth-led network in the United States.
Finding Statistics
-
Statistics & Facts: Immigration in the U.S. (Statista, 2024)This is a collection of reports, facts, and statistics about immigration in the U.S. The collection is in Statista, a database the SCU Library subscribes to. You can search Statista for other information related to your research questions as well!
-
State Immigration Statistics (U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security)Instructions from the site: "Explore data on new arrivals, naturalizations, refugees, total asylum grants, and lawful permanent resident arrivals and adjustments of status. From the sidebar menu, select the topic you’d like to explore. Filter data by year and by state. Click states on the map or use the dropdown list to filter data by your selected states."
Want More?
Ask a librarian if you need help finding specifics!
Finding Articles
In the CTW 1 Library Tutorial, you learned how to use the articles tab on the library homepage to find articles on a topic. Here's a video reminding you how to do that.
The library website can also be used to search for magazine and news articles, not just academic articles. You can use the format filters on the left side of your search results to limit to specific types of articles.
Want More?
Here is another place you can look for academic articles related to immigration topics:
-
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
And here are some places you can look for news articles on your topic:
-
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database Includes articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
-
California News Sources This link opens in a new windowThis database includes articles from more than 500 news sources from around California, from 1983 to current. Includes The San Francisco Chronicle and San Jose Mercury News. Updated daily.