Research Guides: CTW 2 (Dasgupta) : Film, Music and Performance Sources

Film, Music and Performance Secondary Sources

Here is a quick guide to finding scholarly articles and books (secondary sources) about film, music, dance and theater.

Start with the library databases below. (Check further down for other sources)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
This database provides access to articles and other materials related to film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
This database provides brief summaries of, and information on where to find, journal articles, books, articles in books, and dissertations on all aspects of theatre, dance, and other performing arts worldwide.
The full text of articles from more than 195 journals and more than 360 full-text books is included. Years of coverage vary by title.
Humanities Full Text
This database provides brief summaries of, and information on where to find, English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, published from 1984 to the present.
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Music & Performing Arts
A comprehensive online resource that cross-searches and gives access to nearly 8 million music tracks in the following streaming music databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Updated continuously.

To find more scholarly sources consider doing a site search through google. Check out the top tab labelled "Google tips" for more information on how to do an easy Google site search.

Another way to find scholarly research on film and media is to check out this list of Open Access film and media journals.

Film, Music and Performance Primary Sources

Here is a quick guide to finding primary sources related to film, television, theater, and dance.

Start with the library database collections of materials. (see further down in this box for other sources)

Drama Online
Drama Online provides the texts of over 2,950 plays in English or English translation, representing many of the most well-known works of theatre by the world's leading dramatists, from the early Greeks to the present.
The playtexts are respected editions from major publishers in the field of drama: The Arden Shakespeare. Faber and Faber, Methuen Drama, Nick Hern Books, and TCG Books. All the contents of the original printed books are included.
Twentieth-Century Drama
This database provides the full text of many of the most important plays from the English-speaking world from 1891 to 2008, by over 300 noted and lesser-known dramatists.
Among the playwrights included are Amiri Baraka, Noel Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Brian Friel, David Mamet, Eugene ONeill, John Osborne, Sean OCasey, Harold Pinter, George Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson, and Elizabeth Wong.
Digital Theatre+
This database provides unlimited access to over 1,000 full-length filmed theatrical stage productions, including films of plays on Broadway through its partnership with BroadwayHD. In addition, it also includes documentaries, master classes, lectures, study guides, and workshop guides about theatrical practice.
Kanopy
A streaming video service containing thousands of videos from leading producers around the world, including PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, A&E, and more. Users can create playlists & clips and embed videos into online courses.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

CTW 2 (Dasgupta) : Film, Music and Performance Sources

Film, Music and Performance Secondary Sources

Film, Music and Performance Primary Sources