Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physics Library Resources
Physics Library Resources
Image Credits, left to right: NASA, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, University of Minnesota Supercomputing Institute
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Ask your question by texting, IM, email, or phone
Physics Databases (via Library Subscription)
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publications This link opens in a new window
The mission of the AIP is to serve physics, astronomy, and related fields of science and technology by serving its Member Societies and their associates, individual scientists, educators, R&D leaders, and the general public with programs, services and publications.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering, and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical & scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. 1896-present. Updated weekly.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Other Databases with Physics Information (via Library Subscription)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL) is IEEE's complete full-text product on its Xplore platform. It is an online collection of IEEE and IEE journals and conferences--plus the IEEE standards. These publications provide 30% of the world's electrical engineering and computer science literature in a single source. There is a full-text backfile for each title to 1988, with selected titles back to 1950.
Inspec Analytics This link opens in a new window
Inspec Analytics enables research professionals to explore beyond the literature in Inspec to uncover trends and patterns across a wide range of physics and engineering disciplines at both local and global levels. With Inspec Analytics, you can monitor the research output of your institution and see how this ranks globally, benchmark an institution against collaborators and competitors to find strengths and areas for growth, and monitor global trends for over 14,000 research topics to explore new fields and find collaborators.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
A searchable database based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides coverage of Mathematical Reviews from 1940-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SCU receives 400+ ScienceDirect online journals from the publisher Elsevier. SCU's ScienceDirect journals are marked by green icons. Most are full-text. Dates covered: 1995-present. Elsevier journals focus on science, technology, medicine, and business, and include high impact-factor journals such as the Trends and Current Opinion series.
Other Useful Library Guides
Find out if you can use an image for educational purposes or not.
RefWorks is a research management tool that facilitates the collection and management of citations to articles, books, web pages and many other types of sources. It allows you to organize your citations into folders, keep track of them in your papers, and produce bibliography formatted in the style of your choice. From simple bibliographies to papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes, RefWorks handles it all.
RefWorks is the citation management sofware supported by SCU and it's free to all students, faculty, and staff.