Quick Links
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind journals and magazines online and in print
- CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Google Scholar
Web Resources for Soil, Water, and Air
WEB WARNING ABCs
Authority - Is the website from an authoritative source? Check "About Us."
Bias - Is the website trying to sell you goods or an idea?
Currency - Is the information current? Check the website date
Although excellent .org, .com, .net sites exist, use the search engine's Advanced Search to get more
reliable results by limiting the domain name to .gov or .edu -- or use Google Scholar.
- USGS GeologySee U.S. Geologic Service’s geology site Programs tabs: coastal marine geology, mineral resources, earthquake hazards. The latter has a link to earthquakes by country/region. Search for plate tectonics yields the free online book: This Dynamic Earth.
- California Geological SurveyTabs include earthquakes (history, hazard zones, etc.) and mineral resources. Plus Geologic maps.
- NOAA Learning ObjectsVideo explains plate tectonics.
- Plate Tectonics: BerkeleyBrief text describes mechanisms, history of plate tectonics. Plus paleontological animations.
- U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission: Nuclear WasteIncludes brief descriptions/illustrations of waste storage and a backgrounder (see pdf link), though from 2002, that contains useful information.
- Nuclear Energy and WasteU.S. government's Lawrence Berkeley Lab's programs, analyses, and reports on safe disposal of nuclear waste, including Yucca Mountain project.
- Bottled Water: "How much oil is in your water?"Acterra, a Bay Area environmental organization, provides eco-news, info on internships, and much more. This part of its site focuses on bottled water and its environmental footprint.
- California Department of Water ResourcesDetailed data on state's surface and ground water. Top sites (left sidebar) has Interagency Ecological Program that leads to research papers. Also Browse Topics tab at top.
- California Environmental Resources Evaluation System (CERES)California Natural Resources developed CERES to provide access to data on California's environments. Search by geographic area, topic, data type (atlases, maps). CERES is also a portal to information on ocean/coast, environmental law, wetlands, etc.
- California Water Institute (CWI)Associated with CSU-Fresno, CWI studies California water use. Includes a report on agricultural water use, a PBS video on delta water concerns, etc.
- Delta Stewardship CouncilCouncil goals: provide more reliable water supply while protecting / restoring ecosystem and waters of the Sacramento-San Joaquin River Delta. Includes the Delta Plan, newsletters, etc.
- NOAA OceansNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's ocean site is a starting point for: Ocean Explorer videos; NOAA Learning Objects ocean videos; national estuarine reserves; marine sanctuaries; and sanctuary maps.
- Pacific InstituteThis Bay Area research institute focuses on the environment, social equity, etc. See its section on water and links to a Dec. 14, 2010, section on Southwest Water in PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences).
- San Francisco Estuary Institute (SFEI)SFEI scientists, environmentalists, local governments, and industries, study, help manage, and protect the San Francisco Estuary. Wetland Tracker has information on specific projects.
- State of San Francisco Bay Report 2011SFEI partnered with scientists to produce this "science-based assessment of the health of San Francisco Bay."
- USGS Water Resources of the United StatesU.S Geologic Service's water topic areas include rivers/lakes, groundwater, pollution, water use, flood/droughts, etc.
- Water Education FoundationIncludes Western Water magazine (use searchbox for topic search) and biennial reports on the Colorado River system and its ecosystems.
- The World's Water"Dedicated to providing information and resources to help protect and preserve fresh water around the globe," the site includes water data, water conflict maps, etc.
- Air Pollution & the Clean Air Act (CAA)Provides history and a "Plain English Guide" to the CAA; progess and challenges cleaning the air; economic aspects; etc. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
- California Air Resources BoardIncludes overview of air pollution, state and federal air laws, air-quality data. Under the Health tab, an overivew of air pollution's effects on health and links to air/health-related programs.
- EPA - AirTopic areas include air pollutants, global atmospheric changes such as acid rain and ozone depletion, air and health, and more. From U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- EPA - Air ResearchCheck Research News and Research Publications boxes, plus topic boxes such as Health and Air Quality, Ecosystems and Air Quality, and a box of Models, Databases, and Tools.
- Six Common Air PollutantsEPA site details ozone, particulate matter, carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, and lead. Provides findings on National Air Quality status and trends. And has information on air pollution and health.
- California Climate Change PortalAlso links to Air Resources Board > air quality stats.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)Established by the World Meterological Organization and the U.N. Environment Programme, IPCC assesses information on human-caused climate change. Nobel Peace Prize winner, IPCC includes a number of reports.
- U.S. Global Change Research ProgramFind climate change impacts for the West via the interactive map. See Climate Science News under What's New tab.
- World Resources InstituteA premier environmental think tank, WRI covers everything from climate and energy to markets and ecosystems. Access a number of free reports under Publications tab. See EarthTrends for country profiles, data, and maps on a variety of environmental topics.
- California Energy CommissionLinks to CA energy statistics: transportation fuels, oil/petroleum, natural gas; Go Solar!, energy maps; reports; etc.
- DOE Energy Information AdministrationDepartment of Energy (DOE) statistics for petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable and alternative fuels, and international. Includes historical data, forecasts and analyses, environmental analyses and emissions data.
- DOE National Renewable Energy LaboratoryIncludes vehicles and fuels research, energy analysis, geothermal, hydrogen and fuel cells, solar, and wind.
- DOE Energy Efficiency and Renewable EnergyIncludes links to information on alternative energy fuels, such as biodiesel, electricity, ethanol, hydrogen, natural gas, and propane. Also: hydropower, geothermal, solar, and wind technologies.
- International Energy AgencyEnergy policy advisor to 26 member countries "to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy." Energy-use statistics by product (coal, electricity, natural gas, oil, renewables) and by nation or global region. Download World Energy Outlook (all but latest 2 years).
- Union of Concerned ScientistsIncludes good energy backgrounders at Energy Technologies page: solar, wind, hydrokinetic, biofuels.
Subject Guide
Anna Yang
she/her/hers
Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Physics, Public Health Science, Science