Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching British History: Articles

Guide to resources on British history for the students in Hist 101

Quick Links

Find Articles on Your Topic

Scholarly Articles        Newspaper Articles   

 

Scholarly Articles:

To find scholarly articles on your topic, try the following databases:

( if you have trouble accessing the links below, just go to the list of databases on the library homepage (www.scu.edu/library) , and select the one you want)

Historical Abstracts
Provides access to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (except the United States and Canada covered in America: History and Life).
Humanities Full-Text
Indexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, from 1984-present. The full text of many of these articles is available online from 1995 forward.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes nearly 1200 scholarly journals covering the entire range of the humanities and social sciences from 1907-1984.
Arts and Humanities Search
Citation index to the world's leading arts and humanities journals. 1980-present. When you connect to this database, you will need to enter your user id (your name, first name, last name) and password (the barcode on the back of your access card)
JSTOR
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Be aware that the current issues (current 2 or 3 years) are not included.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text articles from around 2.050 publications, including 1,500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals. In addition, indexing and abstracts are given for a collection of nearly 3,400 journals covering a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science and engineering. 1985-present.
Google Scholar
use Google Scholar to limit your Google search to scholarly materials only (books, articles, papers). Be aware that the full-text will not always be available.
 

 

 

Newspaper Articles

 

The library has the following British newspapers.

The Times (London), on microfilm from 1785 to the present, with a printed index to help you find articles on specific topics (index located on the Reference Lower Level, A 121.T46 T55.  We also have paper copies of The Times in the ARS for the years 1857 to 1911.

The Guardian, microfilm, 1971-1992

For recent newspaper articles, try the following databases which include many British newspapers and magazines.

Access World News

Lexis-Nexis Academic