Research Guides: TESP 157: Ethics in Health Professions: Web Resources

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Catalog, databases, interlibrary loan, Link+...
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Library catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Find journals and magazines online and in print
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
Ask your question by texting, IM, email, or phone

Science eReference Books
Camino
Link back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.

Web Resources for Ethics in Health Professions

WEB WARNING ABCs

Authority - Is the website from an authoritative source? Check "About Us."
Bias - Is the website trying to sell you goods or an idea?
Currency - Is the information current? Check the website date

Although excellent .org, .com, .net sites exist, use the search engine's Advanced Search to get more
reliable results by limiting the domain name to .gov or .edu -- or use Google Scholar.

Web Resources for Ethics in the Health Professions

ETHICS AT SCU
Markulla Center for Applied Ethics
Santa Clara University Markulla Center's focus area on bioethics has links to sites and articles on bioethics and biotechnology, end-of-life issues, medical, stem cells, and more.
The Technological Citizen: Ethical Reflections on Modern Technology
SCU blog promoting "awareness, reflection, and dialogue about ethical issues in modern technology." See Health under Categories.
OTHER RESOURCES
Bioethics Research Library - Georgetown University
This Georgetown University site is a wealth of information, pointing to books, articles, websites, and more in a number of bioethics subtopics, such as clinical research ethics. Of particular interest is the searchable database ETHXWeb
Bioethics Resources on the Web
National Institutes of Health provides a broad range of links: federal resources, bioethics centers in academia, case studies and tutorials, and specific topics such as genetics.
Bioethics.net
From the American Journal of Bioethics, this website provides subject links and resources from Bioterrorism and End-of-Life to Research Ethics and Stem Cells. Blog.bioethics.net is a "Nature Top 50" science blog, providing bioethics news and information.
EthicsShare
This collaborative site includes research materials, ethics news, group discussions. Check the Groups tab for a particular area of ethics.
National Human Genome Research Institute
Includes links to ethics in other federal agencies and nongovernmental organizations. Topics: genetic discrimination, testing, cultural issues, intellectual property, etc.
NIH Department of BIoethics
National Institutes of Health (NIH), the funding agency for biomedical research, looks at ethics in clinical, genetics, research, health-care priority, and more.
NIH Stem Cell Information
NIH website addresses: what are stem cells, what they are used for, ethical issues, policy and politics, a glossary, links to relevant articles, and a search engine.
President's Council on Bioethics
Advises the President on ethics in biomedical and technology. Includes reports, links, transcripts searchable by date/topic. Topics include organ transplants, drugs, end-of-life, etc.