Copyright Law + Using Photos and Images from Google
- 6 best practices for legally using Google ImagesCopyright considerations to consider BEFORE using that perfect image you found on Google.
How to Cite an Image
- Finding and using online images: CitingFrom Simon Fraser University, B.C.
Quick Links
- OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowLibrary catalog for books, videos, journals/magazines, etc.
- Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new windowFind journals and magazines online and in print
- CaminoLink back to your course syllabus, readings, etc.
Engineering Images: SCU-Subscribed Databases
Images for Engineering
SCU-SUBSCRIBED DATABASES
(Also see Web Resources below)
IMPORTANT: Use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That's the law! If an image is in the public domain and thus freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is public domain, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
SCU-subscribed databases can be used only on campus
or off-campus, by those with SCU Access cards.
Engineering Images: Web Resources
Images for Engineering
WEB RESOURCES
IMPORTANT: Use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That's the law! If an image is in the public domain and thus freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is public domain, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
- Bureau of Reclamation Photography and Engineering Drawings CollectionsThe U.S. Bureau of Reclamation has an extensive collection of still and moving images dating from 1902. These collections include photographs, movies, and videos. The Bureau's official photographs relate to construction and maintenance of irrigation projects as well as the economic and social life of the area in which they are located.
- DOE Energy Photographs Efficiency and Renewable EnergyThese Dept. of Energy photo collections are mostly from the National Laboratories. There's no easy way of searching; only browsing. Collections include solar, nanotechology, nuclear, etc.
- Earthquake Engineering Online ArchiveAlso known as Nisee e-library. This is a database of publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It is hosted at the University of California, Berkeley. Only low-resolution images are freely available; higher resolution images are available via a $25/year individual subscription.
- Industry & Technology - New York Public Library Digital GalleryHistoric images covering civil and mechanical engineering--including cars, trucks, water and transit infrastructure. From the NYPL's collections.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) Image GalleryIf you use a photo, image, or video from the NREL Image Gallery, an NREL staff member, or a paid or external source, you must provide appropriate credit. See captions.
- Structurae [en]Structurae is a database for works of structural and civil engineering. It also includes many other works of importance or interest to the fields of architecture and public works. It is developed by Nicolas Janberg, a Franco-German structural and bridge engineer. Note: Permission from Structurae must be obtained before using any of these images.
