Research Guides: BIOL 185: Business of Biotechnology: Databases

Google Patent Search

Google Scholar

Databases for Business of Biotechnology

Remember to check the references in good articles for leads to other good articles.

SCIENCE DATABASES
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
more...less...
NCBI's TK databases provide a broad range of information: genome, protein-sequence, PubChem, PubMed...
PubMed
TIPS: For overview articles, click Review link in Filters column at left. Other filters include date, language, etc.
more...less...
National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database, Medline, includes physiology, microbiology, diseases, health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. 1966-present.
Science Citation Index Expanded
TIPS: in left-hand sidebar, check topic areas to refine results. To search Social Sciences Citations at the same time, checkbox that database as well.
more...less...
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text to ~ 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals. 1993-present.
BUSINESS DATABASES
Business Source Complete
TIP: to search multiple databases at once, click "Choose Databases" link and checkbox the databases you wish to search simultaneously.
more...less...
1,700 full-text, peer-reviewed journals. 1,600 business trade and general business publications. Plus financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more
IbisWorld

more...less...
Provides 700+ U.S. industry market research reports and external environment reports.
GENERAL DATABASE
OmniFile Full Text
TIP: to search multiple databases at once, click "Choose Databases" link and checkbox the databases you wish to search simultaneously.
more...less...
Multi-disciplinary database includes general science and applied science & technology, plus social sciences, business, education, and humanities.

How to Get Articles

How to Get Articles

Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.

To obtain the full article, click the “Find It @ SCU” or “Link” button. A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:

1. Links to full-text if we have journal online

2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print

3. Link to Interlibrary Loan & LINK+ if we do not have journal. Fill out all citation information and article pdf will be emailed to you in a few days.