Research Guides: WGST 2A: The Rhetorics of Passing (Nanda): Literary Sources

Quick Links

Find Journals & Magazines
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

To find literary criticism on the novel Native Speaker, use the following two databases:

Gale Literature Resource Center
Enter "Native Speaker" in the search box labeled "Name of Work." Then enter a keyword describing your topic in the search box labeled "Keyword."

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Enter "Native Speaker" in the first search box, and select "Subject Terms" in the drop-down box to its right. Then enter a keyword describing your topic in the second search box.

This database includes the full text of more than 1,000 journals in the fields covered. It also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides detailed information about all the periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

To find definitions of literary terms or genres, you can look in the following reference books and dictionaries: